Skip to content

I Have Found My Calling In Life

November 3, 2015

I decided this fall to use one of my free mornings while Annie is in preschool to volunteer an hour in Elisabeth, Charlie, and Miss P’s classes. When I initially mentioned my Monday morning availability to the teachers, Charlie’s teacher cautioned me that Monday’s the students are very busy with classwork and if I was hoping to do some tutoring and connect with a needy child,as most volunteers are, that would not be a good block of time to do so. I quickly set the record straight. I have no desire to connect with a needy child! I just want to drink coffee and cut with scissors and stare at Charlie for an hour.

I love being a volunteer. I love it more than any job I’ve ever had. I love it so much that I now have Annie’s carpool drop her off at Hope after preschool so I can stay and keep on cutting and glueing and staring at my children. It’s so relaxing!

Annie usually moseys in about the time I get to Elisabeth’s class. For a while I was stashing her under the teachers desk with a stack of picture books, but the teacher noticed and invited Annie to pull up a chair and join Elisabeth at her desk. Annie blended right in, scribbling diligently away on a little notebook. She was such a good second grader, that she was invited to come to second grade any time. It has become a favorite haunt of hers. She only betrays her age (3) when I tell her it is time to go home. Yesterday she hung onto the doorframe screaming, “NOOOO I don’t wanna go! I don’t wanna go!” while the students politely look away.

Yesterday I discovered the laminator. I may never go home.

And not to brag, but when Charlie’s teacher saw how many math bingo cards I laminated and cut in one day he declared me a “Beast”. I have arrived.

Below: Annie goes to second grade.

photo (68)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lee Muzzy permalink
    November 5, 2015 8:18 am

    You should really consider homeschooling. you seem like just the kind of person to do it.

  2. Lee Muzzy permalink
    November 5, 2015 8:19 am

    you should really consider homeschooling. you seem like just the right person to do it.

Leave a Reply

