Skip to content

Lightning Round

January 19, 2015

Monday mornings, after Charlie and Elisabeth have been deposited at Hope Academy, and the little girls have been deposited with Patty and her cousin Kathy Harty (for a morning of baking, reading, puzzles, and more), I make another cup of coffee and have a little date with myself to update my virtual scrapbook: the blog.

Miss P and Annie are only in preschool one day a week this year because that is all Annie was old enough for at Hand in Hand. Because I have managed to go six and a half years without playing on the floor, and I don’t intend to start now, I elected to keep Miss P home this year to play on the floor with Annie, lest I be forced to break my streak of non-playing luck. However, this means that Miss P, who no longer naps becomes my little side-kick in the afternoons, and I no longer have a nap-time window to catch my breath and think about things like blogging. If I didn’t have Monday mornings it would be over. But when I am tempted to call it quits, I think about the lovely scrapbook I will someday have chronically the early years of my first three offspring and nothing at all for Baby Dear, who is just starting to get funny. So, even if I go in fits and starts, I must get at least a few years of Annie on the books.

The last five weeks, in brief, included:

  • The Hope Academy Christmas Program. Elisabeth gave a little reading: “I, said the sheep with the curly horn, I gave him my blanket soft and warm.  He wore my coat on Christmas morn.”  And Charlie was a reluctant shepherd.

photo (54)

 

 

  • Then I made my annual attempt at cookie baking just to see if anything had changed since last year.  It had not.  They were terrible, terrible, terrible.photo (53)So we delivered fresh eggs to teachers and neighbors instead.  Charlie proudly delivered his eggs to his beloved first grade teacher, Mr. Crowl, who exclaimed in front of the whole class, “I was just HOPING someone would give me eggs for Christmas! ”  This is the same teacher who organized the class Christmas party around various challenging marshmallow activities, then said, “Why not?” when the class suggested a marshmallow fight, and was the first one to start flinging marshmallows.  I will love Mr. Crowl forever.photo (52)
  • We drove to Birmingham for Christmas.  After a long nap, we departed at midnight and drove straight through arriving in time for supper! The trip was not without incident, however.  To keep the children from stopping us for frequent bathroom breaks, I brought our little training potty in the van.  This always worked so well for Uncle Harold and Aunt Brenda.  I have such fond memories of road tripping in their van, covering myself with a quilt and availing myself of their travel potty well into the teenage years.  It did not go so smoothly for me this time around.  I blame the lack of sleep, but for some reason, I temporarily lost my mind and tried to empty the full potty out the long side window of the van, tipping from the front of the window.  Let’s just say not one single drop of urine made it out of the van. The remaining eight hour drive was very long. Annie pretty much summed it up when made our next gas stop, and I announced that we were going in to the gas station bathroom this time.  Annie said, at her usual top volume, “O’tay, but DOOON’T throw it in my face this time!” I think I will not include a photo of the carnage.
  • We enjoyed three weeks in Birmingham with grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles. photo (51)photo (49)
  • After all Annie’s Santa angst, he really  came through for her! She still talks about him daily, and can be heard muttering, “Santa is a nice guy!” photo (50)
  • Miss P took swimming lessons while in Birmingham, and we celebrated her progress by stopping at the Holiday Inn Holidome in Madison, Wisconsin, to enjoy the indoor waterpark.  Unfortunately, we arrived at the hotel quite late and as we pulled in Elisabeth discovered a sty on her eye-lid.  Being very “in-tune” with her body (to put a positive spin on it) Elisabeth was quite vocal as we entered the hotel, prompting noise complaints from the other rooms.  If anything, though, she probably helped distract from the presence of Corndog, who we typically shuttle in with the suitcases opting to ask forgiveness rather than permission. We hit the breakfast buffet at 7 and were waiting in the lobby for the waterpark to open at 8.  Everyone enjoyed it immensely.  Even Annie who must’ve gone down the baby slide 50 times in a row after clarifying, “Will this slide break my bones or not?”20150111_08234820150111_082330
  • We made it home. As usual, the prospect of resettling was daunting and for some reason always spurs me to reorganize our house…which requires Kettie…who answered the batphone just an hour after our arrival and was at our door in a flash.  She reminded me that I called her in the same state of confusion the day we rolled in last year, and asked if she should just go ahead and put this on her calendar for the next time we drive to Birmingham and back. Probably, as there is no time like following a 20 hour car trip to clean out every closet in the house and rearrange the furniture.
  • And that’s pretty much it.  For now.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2015 1:31 pm

    Love this, thanks for blogging. What beautiful eggs!

  2. Craig MacIntosh permalink
    January 19, 2015 4:48 pm

    Just when you think there will not be another post until spring…up pops a delightful-as-usual blog. Gone south? Ah, that was the culprit, the reason for the absence of the Peppers. All is well, they’re back and we can settle down with wonderful tales until spring. There is a lot of winter still to come…and plenty of time for more adventures with the usual suspects. Wonderful as always.

  3. January 19, 2015 8:08 pm

    Keegan is still talking about her “new best friend Elisabeth.” =)

Leave a Reply

