Skip to content

First Week Of First Grade

September 1, 2014

school 053

The twins made it through the first week of first grade at Hope Academy with flying colors!  Both are very happy heading into school each morning.  Elisabeth (note that due to a maturing understanding of the letter s which can occasionally make a “z” sound,  she has returned to the original spelling of her name), has had a little case of cold feet at the door, primarily due to her red folder which must each day be placed in the red folder box.  For some reason each morning, just as Mrs. Watkins’s door comes into view Elisabeth experiences red folder amnesia,  convinced that she does not know where to put the red folder.

Being the bearer of a red folder is a whole new level of responsibility, the weight of which cannot be underestimated.  Fortunately, Mrs. Watkins is a paragon of patience and with a smile and, “Let’s see if you can remember where to put the red folder,” Elisabeth’s confidence comes rushing back, and she is good to go.

Both twins have struggled with a little case of not-sure-what-to-do-with-myself on the playground.  (For me it was a chronic condition.) The situation improved when Charlie’s teacher, Mr. Crowl, joined the soccer group inviting Charlie along.

“So now,” Elisabeth explained, “Charlie plays soccer and I am the cheerleader for his team.  I stand on the side and yell, ‘Goooo Cheaters! Goooo Cheaters!'”

“CheeTAHs,” Charlie corrected her, exasperated, “We are the Cheetahs.”

According to Elisabeth, the other team does not have their own cheerleader.  Apparently, they do not have a twin.

The highlight of Elisabeth’s week (other than cheering for the Cheaters) was being asked to demonstrate to the class how to read silently, or, as she corrected me, “Read to self.” I wonder if this demonstration was as exciting for her classmates as it was for her.  As Elisabeth told it, “I read until Mrs. Watkins said, ‘I’m sorry to have to cut you off, Elisabeth, but it is time for us to move on.’ ” I can’t imaging why Mrs. Watkins wouldn’t want the whole class to continue watching Elisabeth sitting silently, staring at the pages of a book, indefinitely.

The highlight for Charlie is being taught by a man.  According to Charlie, Mr. Crowl is a thrill-a-minute.  Math, for example, is much more suspenseful when your teacher tells you that your math book is a stick of dynamite, primed to explode if you don’t answer the question.  That scenario would never have entered my mind, but for a six-year old boy it takes math to a whole new level.

Dan got an email from Mr. Crowl the second day of school wondering if anyone had suggestions for how he might help a little girl in the classroom, who limps a little, to navigate the long halls.  I didn’t hear any more about it, until Friday when Charlie marveled, “Mom, there’s a girl in my class, I think she has a disability, and Mr. Crowl pulls her around in a little red wagon. And each time we line up, she gets to pick someone to ride along. I hope someday I get to ride with her!”

If that isn’t the the sweetest thing since Pa made that tall shoe for the little girl at Laura Ingall’s birthday party, then I don’t know what is! I have now joined Charlie in the Mr. Crowl fan club. Maybe I will be the cheerleader.

Below, my big kids, sittin’ on ready:

school 063

school 066

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Papaw permalink
    September 1, 2014 1:25 pm

    Go Twins Go.

  2. September 1, 2014 2:18 pm

    So good to hear how things are going in first grade. So seriously, are those school uniforms the same as HIH? I see the Hope Academy on the red shirt but otherwise, they look very similar.

  3. January 22, 2015 8:48 pm

    Mr Crowl has always been a thrill a minute…since the day he was born. I know. I was there, and he kept us on our toes forever after. Glad Charlie enjoys him as a teacher!

Leave a Reply

