Skip to content

Asking For Money

November 3, 2013

I hate to do this to you, gracious reader, but here I am, asking for money.  I don’t like to do it, but sometimes you have to take one for the team…the team being Kendra and me and 20 other mothers.  Here’s how it has come to this:

Kendra has worked for five years as a mentor with Urban Ventures, an outreach to inner-city youth in Minneapolis.  In the last 2+ years, most of the girls she has been mentoring have  become mothers.  Kendra, and others, have been trying different ways to come alongside some of these new moms to provide parenting coaching, counseling, etc.  But we all know how it is.  I can barely get myself and my kids somewhere.   I can’t imagine trying to make it to a weekly support group as a single mom without transportation or resources!  So our latest idea is to take a group of these newer moms, along with an equal number of more seasoned moms away for a weekend, sort of a condensed support group.  We are calling our group Moms 4 Moms.  After the retreat we will hold monthly support group meetings, where we will incorporate both parenting coaching and discipleship. Most significantly, we are hoping to partner newer moms with more seasoned moms for ongoing one on one mentoring.

In her book, Young, Poor, and Pregnant: The Psychology of Teen Motherhood, Judith Musick explains that just as unhealthy relationships are typically the root of the problem for individuals caught in a cycle of poverty, healthy relationships are the foundation for the solution.  And don’t we all need people to show us the way?  Without mature mothers going ahead of me and hanging on to me, I would be adrift at sea!  Why, most everything I do with my children (the good things I do, not the weird ones) are because my mother did it that way.

While I agree with Judith Musick’s explanation of the problem, I think her “relationships solution” is incomplete.  The relationship that changes everything for all of us is Jesus.  We pray that our group Moms for Moms will open doors for ALL the moms  in the group to encounter the source of true transformation as well as provide a positive identity group, a place to belong, and support to raise up our children in the truth.

We are leaving on Friday for our kick-off: a weekend retreat at a lodge in northern Minnesota.  We are asking each participant to contribute 10 dollars.  Our actual cost for the retreat and follow-up is closer to $50 a person (the lodge was given to us at no cost for the weekend).  We have 22 women signed up.  While we are thrilled that the turnout is more than we had hoped for, it means we need more sponsors.  I know this is short notice, but I agreed to spread the word.

Would you consider sponsoring one of our moms at 50 dollars for the weekend or 100 dollars for the weekend plus follow-up meetings?  We are partnering with an urban ministry called The R.O.C.K., so donations are all tax deductible.  If you do decide to sponsor one of our participants, you can do so by check payable to  The R.O.C.K. Ministries, with “Moms4Moms” in the memo line.  They can be mailed to 2916 12th Av. S. Minneapolis, MN 55407.   You will receive a receipt from The R.O.C.K.

Because we are scrambling, here at the last minute, please email me if you do decide to donate, so we can plan accordingly.  Thank you for considering!  I am so grateful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Myra Arnold permalink
    November 3, 2013 7:24 am

    I will contribute $50 and I will hand it to you at school tomorrow. (Will I see you tomorrow or do you have a mail cubbie in the office?) If you see me, remind me because I forget. Myra Arnold arnol005@umn.edu

  2. Stephanie permalink
    November 3, 2013 9:10 am

    AWESOME idea!

Leave a Reply

