Skip to content

It is easier to say goodbye to someone when they are scary.

October 4, 2013

Cousin Kate is gone and we miss her like mad, we do!  I was pleased to hear her say she misses us so much she’s a little embarrassed.  I feel just the same way.  I’m sure Dan misses her because now he has to play with me.

We were also greatly saddened to say goodbye to Georgie.  It is so lonely driving carpool without Georgie riding shotgun.  I tried to buy her.  I offered Kate $100 dollars and my new pink shirt.  She counter offered: $100, my pink shirt, my smart-wool shirt, and baby Annie.

A generous deal, but I really like smart-wool, so I declined.

No one was more disappointed to see Georgie go than Mr. Tumnus.  He and Georgie got on famously, alternately chasing each other around the living room and then cuddling together in front of the fireplace… as couples will do.  Mr. T was so depressed that he took his little overnight bag (which, being a very popular rabbit, he just keeps packed), and headed to Stillwater for a few weeks, hopeful that a change of scene might cheer him.  Our next door neighbor’s nanny, Nancy, is really peeved that he’s been gone so long.  She is next in line to have him for a sleep-over, and I tell you she was positively icy when she discovered his absence from our porch-hutch.

The day before Kate left, a staff member at Hand in Hand asked if I had ever thought about trying to get Miss P a into modeling due to her “haunting eyes”.  If you think her eyes are haunting by day, try waking up to those eyes at 3 a.m.  It’s haunting.

On the eve of her departure, Kate made it somewhat easier for us to say goodbye to her by sending me the following email from the basement, picturing Annie’s doll, now the work of Georgie, .  I opened it just before bed. The subject line: “Haunting Eyes”.  The text simply: “Sweet Dreams”.

 

photo

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2013 3:03 pm

    Eeeeeee :I

  2. Beth Saav permalink
    October 4, 2013 5:24 pm

    Once again, never failing to make me laugh out loud! P.S. I finally got my review up on amazon!

Leave a Reply

