Skip to content

Summer Updates: Growing Season

August 18, 2013

If you happened to drive past our house last night around ten, and saw a man in his underwear running around the front yard swinging a doll stroller, it was only Dan chasing a bat.  Sigh.  They’re baaaaack.

Other than the return of the bats (and the batman who is clomping around on the roof as I type) we have all just been chillin’.  Chillin’ and growing.

The girls planted some sunflower seeds.  The sunflowers are growing by the day.

summer 020

To the point that I am starting to become alarmed.  It may be difficult to find a vase….

summer 023

No one is more surprised than I am at the growth of the cutting garden Mary Olson helped me plant at the end of last summer.  I will refer to these pictures in February, may it never come!

summer 040-001

summer 030-001summer 041-001

Uncle George put up this swing, before high-tailing it home to Alabama… a reminder of fun we had with him this year.  And Dan built the fence you see behind it (with a little help from his friends).

summer 018

And I stole this incredible see-saw for the kids.

summer 006-001

I had been admiring it for a while at Cosco, when what should my wandering eyes happen to see in a yard just a block away?  The self-same see-saw.  It’s owner was out watering her plants, and I asked if I could give it a try to assess its funness before making the big purchase.  It is hard to assess the funness of a see-saw by yourself, so I asked if she would like to join me on it.  She did.  While we see-sawed, I casually inquired if she would be interested in selling it.  She said she would except that her children, who really have out-grown it won’t let her.  However, she offered me a deal.  If I agreed to come down to her yard and steal the see-saw while her family was out of town, I could have it.  On the condition that I never bring it back.

Of course I agreed.

“We’ll be gone on August 1Oth,” she whispered.

So on August 10, my henchmen: Phil, Nicole, her boyfriend, and I hopped the neighbors fence, and as several neighbor children stared, we lifted the see-saw.

Additionally, I have been growing my hair:

dora 009

This is how it looks for about one minute after I blow it dry and before I straighten it with the flat-iron.  During this minute I fervently hope the doorbell doesn’t ring.   Elizabeth happened to see me during this vulnerable moment, and she screamed with joy, “You look just like Dora the explorer!”

Betsy suggested Dora birthday parties as a second career.

Special thanks to Sarah Peterson, without whose expertise I would always look like the above photo.

Our rabbit, Mr. Tumnus, certainly is growing.  Charlie calls him, “Brother.”  Yesterday, post sprinkler/swim, Charlie sat with him in the yard.

Charlie: “Mom, it doesn’t get any better than this – just sitting on a towel, reading a book with your rabbit.”

summer 028

For one  week I thought we might have a very bright rabbit on our hands, and I made a brief attempt to litter box train him and make him a house rabbit.  That did not work.  He remains a hutch rabbit.

Note our bright green grass growing behind Charlie.  That would be our patch of astro-turf.  Or as one friend calls it, our “Brady Bunch Yard”. It covers the patio and holds the kiddy pool, so the kiddy-pool won’t kill the real grass.  We all prefer it to the real lawn.

Elizabeth continues to paint, paint, paint.  Below: her masterpiece, our family portrait.

summer 043

When I won’t let her paint she moans and sighs, “It is very very hard being an artist when you can’t paint, paint, paint.”

And Annie is doing her best work: growing herself.

dora 029

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2013 2:26 pm

    “All things bright and beautiful,” have been growing under the long sunny days of summer at your home!!

  2. Beth Saav permalink
    August 18, 2013 10:51 pm

    As usual, your posts do not disappoint; I was chuckling out loud again! Thank you! What a beautiful family you have, and what a talented little artist!

  3. Grammie permalink
    August 19, 2013 8:55 am

    This has the feel of a Christmas newsletter in mid-August. How wonderful to be caught up on all you are doing. There is one person missing: no pictures of Dan. I guess a pic of Dan in his underwear swinging a stroller would be fodder for youtube.

  4. Laura Spink permalink
    August 19, 2013 1:32 pm

    Delighted by your blog, Lucy! Amazed by Elizabeth’s talent! Her “Laundry to the Moon” is one of my favorite pieces! Love from Laura Spink

  5. August 19, 2013 3:19 pm

    What wonderful words put together in such a delightful arrangement. May your summer last forever! These family photos are almost as much fun as seeing the real thing.

Leave a Reply

