Skip to content

It Could Be Worse Part I

July 18, 2013

For several years we have been trying to get Miss P, whose name is Mary Patience, to go by her middle name: Patience.  It has not worked, so we are taking a different approach and introducing her as Mary P.  Some of our friends and family are reluctant to move away from her nickname expressing a fondness for the name Miss P.  I can understand.  There are many great things about the name Miss P.  For example, you will never be one of several “Miss P’s” in the church nursery.  And at the park, if you hear a mother calling, “Miss P!”  you know the call is for you.  But she will be starting preschool this fall, and it seems an ideal time to establish a more permanent name. For try as I might I can’t picture a college freshman introducing herself as “Miss P”.

Then there’s the matter of teasing.  You should really take care and not give your child a name with potty conotations.  I don’t want her to go through life having to explain each time she is introduced, “That’s P with a “.” not an “ee”.  The “ee” is not the only spelling issue we are dealing with right now.  Elizabeth taught Miss P to print the letters P. O., her initials.  Miss P loves to do all things herself, without assistance, or feedback.  Including printing her own name tag, when appropriate, and signing her drawings.  The problem is, she only has two letters in her repertoire and she likes her name to look long, so she consistently spells her name P O O P.  The first time she did this I started to explain that P O O P does not spell Miss P, but she was very entrenched in the idea, and I don’t have a lot of fight left.  I figure life will eventually teach her that there is a nickname more unfortunate than Miss P.  That would be Miss Poop.

I wish I had a picture to close with, but I will just let you imagine Miss P, sitting through story time at the library yesterday, proudly wearing her P O O P tag.

And that’s not all.  To be continued…..

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2013 2:16 pm

    Ms Lucy, I have to smile when I read your postings. So refreshing to read. So much fun to imagine your little ones speaking and doing these precious things. These words would brighten anyone’s day. Blessings, Mac

  2. J Scruton permalink
    July 18, 2013 5:13 pm

    That’s real!!! She’s funny…somehow I think she can handle whatever comes her way!…great story Mom!!!!

  3. July 19, 2013 12:58 am

    I love people that make me laugh. Hard. Both love them hard and laugh hard. And that’s you.

  4. Shannomo permalink
    July 19, 2013 10:21 am

    This is too funny, of course my co-workers think I’m weird based on the outburst of laughter in our quiet work area. I love reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

