Skip to content

Hope Hike Report

June 26, 2013

Tha1nk you thank you thank you thank you to those who responded so quickly to my emergency funding need on Saturday. I am so grateful  to all who gave to Hope, and that I could play a part. The six children I took with me turned into seven when we picked up a student on the way.  FYI: me and my seven children completed the hike in two and a half hours.  It was nothing if not rigorous!  I may have bitten off a wee bit more than I should have.   By the time I realized this we were halfway through, deep in the park, with no prospect of rescue and nothing to do but forge ahead.  I was shocked at how out of shape I am.  But I was in good company, the children are also out of shape.  One child ended up being piggy backed by a Bird (Bird as in family, not as in feathered).  One child was pulled along on a bike with a tow rope.   A nice new friend carried Charlie’s bike when he could no longer go on and had to be carried himself.  We ditched Miss P’s tricycle for later pick-up and the Gregory’s added her to their stroller.  I pushed the double stroller with the two babies.  We were told the path was a 5K.  I don’t know what it was, but it was no 5K.   A marathon maybe?

We felt a great sense of accomplishment when we finally emerged from the woods.  Miss P, after riding in a stroller for two hours was feeling especially fine.  She hopped back on her trike to peddle the last 100 feet singing at the top of her lungs, “I can do most anything through Christ who strengthens me!”

I know I should say, with the children, I did it all for the Lord…or at least the school…but truth is, I did it for Dan.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Brenda permalink
    June 26, 2013 2:25 pm

    Awwww. That is so sweet, Lucy.

  2. nini permalink
    June 26, 2013 5:08 pm

    That was such a good blog. I felt like I was itching and sweating just reading it.Appreciate your honesty at the end.nini

Leave a Reply

