Skip to content

From The Other Side

April 23, 2013

I woke up at 5:15 a.m. to the sound of snow plows and the sight of this:

SNOW DAY 012-001

Every few days I take up another project to help these last few  snowy days pass quickly.  Well, it just keeps snowing and, as a result, I am getting a lot done.  I spent about four hours this weekend sorting through my recipes and making a menu calendar for the next three months, then organizing lists by items to shop for weekly and items I can stock up on monthly.  When I mentioned this to my mother she insisted that I record this on my blog so people will know  “you do have another side”.  Here are my lists, proof of my “other side”.

SNOW DAY 024

I took my list to Costco today where Patty and I now enjoy a joint household membership…a sort of grown-up Best-Friends Necklace.  I have to say I was very proud of my hours of list making until Mary Brown told me, “Oh, there’s an app for that!”  She did soften the blow by bringing me a real taxidermic rooster I had been admiring at Savers.  At ten dollars he was a bit pricey for the knick-knack department and so had been on the shelf a while.  She said numerous employees congratulated her on her purchase as she left the store saying, “Hey! Alright you got the rooster!”

He was well received by the children who suggested name possibilities including: “Baby Annie” (from Miss P), “Bomby Bird” (from Ruby Brown), “Poop” (from Charlie), and “Don” (from Elizabeth).  It was a tough contest, but Don now stands proudly on our mantle.

SNOW DAY 019

I forgot to tell Dan about Don, but he found out at dinner when he asked each of the children what their “high” and “low” of the day was, and Elizabeth answered solemnly: “I got to pet a dead rooster.”

Also due to inclement weather, we have been crafting.  It’s hard to find a craft that can interest ages 3-33, but we have been working on re-usable crepe paper to decorate our house for May, our big Birthday month (Charlie and Elizabeth and Annie). For two weeks we have been cutting up fabric scraps.  Then Elizabeth and Miss P lined them up on long pieces of tape and Charlie ran them through the sewing machine.  And to my amazement, it worked!  More points for my “other side”:

SNOW DAY 043SNOW DAY 042SNOW DAY 034SNOW DAY 014SNOW DAY 013

The streamers are all in keeping with my new philosophy of interior decorating which is: “Do whatever you want!”  Keeping spirits up is my aim, and I find it helps to display everything I find the slightest bit cheering. Including Don. SNOW DAY 020

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Grammie permalink
    April 23, 2013 4:51 pm

    Please tell Elisabeth (or is that Elizabeth now?) that Don is her great-grandfather’s name. She made a good choice. This is a delightful, uplifting post.

  2. Betsy permalink
    April 23, 2013 8:16 pm

    Please tell Charlie I would like for him to sew something for me.

  3. April 24, 2013 1:24 am

    Even I have the Paprika app for meal planning, and I live in a 3rd world country. =)

Leave a Reply

