Skip to content

Life Celebrations

April 18, 2013

sprouts 003

Today was Charlie’s preschool: “Life Celebration”.  Elizabeth’s was last week.  In lieu of cupcakes, the child of honor gets to bring a bouquet of fresh flowers..   The mother brings a photo collage of the child and tells the story of their life.  The child carries a little globe around the circle as the mother talks about each year of his life.  The class sings:

“The earth goes around the sun, and Charlie turns one…”

This would be a very slow way to celebrate the Birthday of an elderly person, but it works in preschool.

Elizabeth took her celebration so seriously.  All she had to do was carry that little globe around the circle and, poor thing, she fumbled it twice.  I am so grateful she didn’t realize it cracked down the middle the second time she dropped it.  At the end of the celebration, the children extend their hands in blessing and sing: “May the blessing of the Lord rest upon you.”  Then the child gets to arrange his or her flowers for the class.

The child answers questions ahead of time which are shared with the class at the celebration.  I was surprised to learn that Charlie’s favorite animal is the bull.  Charlie’s original answer to the question, “What do you praise God for?” was “My hair”.  Elizabeth always ready with a word of correction informed him, “Charlie, ‘your hair’ is not very important.  You should say, ‘My friends.'”  He compromised and settle on: “I praise God for my hair and my friends.”

Elizabeth’s celebration was quite moving. (Charlie’s less so, because he opted to take this opportunity talk baby talk and begin sucking his thumb. Carpe Diem, I guess.”

Elizabeth’s day was especially poignant for me because I was there.  As opposed to her first life celebration which was scheduled last fall and forgotten by me.  I received that call every mother dreads: “This is Miss Connie from Hand in Hand.  Did you forget Elizabeth’s life celebrations was today?”  Thankfully, Miss Connie covered for me, and let the day pass without mention of the life celebration. Elizabeth was none the wiser. We rescheduled for last week to give me more time to remember to come.

During Elizabeth’s closing blessing, her teacher Miss Connie was moved to tears!  Dan said it was probably just because Elizabeth broke her globe.  When we began Charlie’s celebration this morning Miss Connie whispered to me, “I promise I won’t cry.”  For some reason, she found it easy.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristine permalink
    April 18, 2013 4:26 pm

    Maybe Charlie looked at Uncle Mark and realized how fleeting hair can be. Cute story.

  2. April 18, 2013 4:47 pm

    “I praise God for my hair and my friends” is also a poor way to celebrate the Birthday of an elderly person.

  3. Grammie permalink
    April 30, 2013 4:03 pm

    I read this post again and just howled. It is funnier the second time around.

Leave a Reply

