Skip to content

We All Fall Down

March 14, 2013

I dislike spring in Minnesota.  It is still snowing.  And now it is melting every day.

Elizabeth stepped in one of these melting puddles yesterday on the way in from school.  “Don’t worry, mom,” She called bravely, “It is not up to my hip!”

Last night it all froze again.  Really the whole state is a death trap.  This morning I was walking with Annie and P to Patty’s house and one minute we were on our feet (at least two of us were), and the next minute we were all three flat on our backs looking at the sky.  Miss P’s first words were, “You otay mom?.”

Me: “Yeah, I’m okay.  You okay?”

P: “I’m otay.  Are you otay?”

Me: “Yes, I’m okay.”

Annie and Miss P took it better than I did.  As Patty observed, I was “shaken and stirred.” But then, Miss P has a lot of experience with falling down.   She falls down a couple of times a day while running with the pack, and immediately calls out “I’m otay!”  just in case they were concerned.    They never are.

Every night at supper Dan asks her about her day and every night she says, “You know what happened?  I fell down.”  Tonight I will join her with my own “falling down” report.

I was not the only man down today.  Dan wiped out on his way to the car and had to come back and change clothes.  Our mailman reports that he fell twice.  And I’ve been polling the cashiers today as I run errands. The cashier at Target wiped out.  The cashier at the Holiday Station broke her tail bone.  Yes, early returns indicate that fifty percent of Minnesotans bit the sidewalk this morning.

Leave a comment if you fell down today.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2013 7:55 pm

    My stairs and sidewalk are a death trap and NO amount of salt seems to be working! I’m sorry to all the little peppers, mailman, and check out ladies who have to say “I’m otay” as a result of my awful house. I feel like the worst home owner!

  2. carl permalink
    March 14, 2013 8:50 pm

    add me to the list of people who fell. in front of dozens of gawking middle schoolers

  3. Julie Childs permalink
    March 14, 2013 9:35 pm

    precious post. “I’m otay” are the sweetest words in the world.

  4. March 15, 2013 12:40 am

    . . . and this is why Grandpa could talk Grandma into leaving her home turf and the young’uns when she was told she has osteoporosis. So far I too am, “okay.”

  5. Jacy permalink
    March 15, 2013 12:44 am

    I fell down once on Sunday night and once on Monday morning, and I’m a Minnesotan! 🙂

  6. Mark permalink
    March 15, 2013 11:59 am

    I fell down while running. It bled the whole way home and now I have a scar on the bottom of my chin to remember it by:)

Leave a Reply

