Skip to content

And Now A Word From Our Sponsor:

March 9, 2013

I am reading this book called Large Family Logistics.  It only took me a few chapters to slam the book shut in shock.  Charlie regularly asks me “Would you rather…?” questions.  Every one ends in “or cut off your pinky finger”.  I tell you the truth, I’d sooner cut off my beloved pinky than implement this woman’s rigorous housekeeping routines.  “When?” I find myself asking, “Does she talk on her cell phone?”  And “How in the world does she find time to watch her shows?”

On an unrelated note that will turn out to be related in the end: WordPress has a new feature that tracks the number of individual viewers that visit each blog (instead of individual hits).  I have long suspected that most of my blog hits are Papaw.  I was shocked to discover that I have 975 viewers reading along.  I suppose it is theoretically possible that my dad is running around Birmingham logging onto my blog from 900 different computers.  But I doubt it.  Do you know what this number means? If every single reader  sends me a dollar I can fence the rest of our yard.  Just kidding. Not really.

But my real news is I HAVE A SPONSOR.   Full disclosure: it is cousin Susanna.  It’s probably just a pity date, but I don’t care, because one of the best things to happen to me this year has been my discovery of Norwex.  I only discovered Norwex because a girl I met at a Birthing class issued an open invitation to her party and promised a blue cheese dip.  I really had no interest in cleaning products, but I do love blue cheese, so I showed up at her door.  Fortunately she vaguely remember me.  After hearing the Norwex demonstration I was sold.

Now my cousin Susanna is selling Norwex and paying me in products.  I would gladly sell my blog for Norwex.  I’d sell almost anything I have for  Norwex.  Yes, Charlie, I’d sell my pinky finger!

In case you don’t know, Norwex is a line of microfiber cleaning products that are anti-bacterial and are used without additional chemical cleaning products (saving me money).  I do not need the aforementioned book lady’s routines, because I have cloths for every purpose waiting on hooks and it doesn’t take all day, because cleaning with Norwex is so easy (saving me time).  So I have plenty of time to talk on my cell phone and watch my shows.

One of the most important things about Norwex is that, due to the antibacterial property of the cloths, they don’t cross-contaminate.  Norwex consultants regularly demonstrate this by wiping up raw chicken and then a clean countertop with the same cloth.  They have little test strips to prove that there is no bacteria transferred.

This was very reassuring to me last Friday when Miss P offered to help me clean the bathroom.  She wiped down her dirty little training potty with her Norwex cloth.  I turned to throw something away and when I turned back around she was vigorously wiping Annie’s head down with the same cloth. And no harm done! I am thinking of renting the girls out for Norwex demonstrations.  Miss P could bring her dirty potty and Annie could bring her head.

Below, a run-down of my favorite Norwex products:

1. The enviro cloth.  I have tried other cheaper microfiber cloths and they just pushed the dirt around. After getting used to the Enviro Cloth, I will never go back.  I use it on kitchen counters, fine wood, dusting, window washing…it’s a one stop shop.

2. The mop.  Also known by my friends as my “life changing mop”.  Enough said.

3. Dryer balls. Dry clothes faster with fewer wrinkles.  If the dryer takes too long, I forget about it.  I am a terrible folder.  I need dryer balls.

4. Fruit and Veggie Scrubber.  I didn’t really know how I was supposed to be washing produce and was worried about the chemicals on the fruit, etc.  I keep this handy by the sink.  Love it.

5. Hair turban.  Reduces my blow drying time by half.  I have a lot of hair.  That’s a lot of extra time for phone talking.

6.  Make-up removal cloth.  Dan appreciates that I no longer wake up with racoon eyes.

If you are interested in Norwex, take a look at Susanna’s website on the side bar.  You can order right from the website, or email her at Susanna.clean@gmail.com  If you host a party, you can stock up for free.  If you are in Minneapolis and are interested in having a Norwex party, my friend Megan is in business.  Her email address is Meganmmathis@yahoo.com.  Happy cleaning!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie Childs permalink
    March 9, 2013 4:27 am

    Really cute blog. Especially about your cell phone and your shows. And MissP’s potty and Annie’s head. Nini Can’t wait for y’all to be here

  2. Susanna permalink
    March 9, 2013 5:32 am

    Lucy you’re hilarious. That’s why you have nearly a thousand readers. You keep us all in stitches. Keep em coming!

  3. mary permalink
    March 11, 2013 2:46 am

    Lucy you are a gifted writer. Thanks for keeping it real and making me laugh.

  4. Anna Barber permalink
    March 15, 2013 12:53 am

    If I see George again before he leaves B’ham, I’ll gladly send my dollar through him. Also hope to buy a magic mop and would love to hire some little peppers to push it around sometime. 🙂 Anna Barber

Leave a Reply

