Skip to content

I think I can….

March 3, 2013

We have been dealing with fluids a’plenty this week.  We have a stomach bug.  A very mild,  very slow moving stomach bug working its way through the troops.  The trouble really began about two weeks ago when Annie started waking up every few hours of the night to nurse.  I could see little teeth trying to poke through all along her upper gum line, so I’ve been feeling sorry for her and feeding her off and on all night for a few weeks.  Tuesday night I told Dan I was so tired I felt like I was about to “crack up”.  I don’t think that’s the proper use of “crack up”, but I meant it from the bottom of my heart.

Dear Dan, nicknamed “the Christ figure” in his family, offered me a night down in the surprisingly empty guest room. I was in bed with lights out, ear plugs on, and Ambien kicking in at nine o’clock.  I headed upstairs at six-thirty the next morning, with a spring in my step, only to be stopped in my tracks by the sight of Charlie asleep in Dan’s bed, covered in towels.

It turns out Dan was up every hour of the night between Annie teething, Charlie throwing up, and the other kids getting woken up by Charlie throwing up.  But do you think he came and got me?  Not a chance.

A better mother than me might feel guilty to have missed this four-ring-all-night-circus.  Me?  I feel like I won the lottery.  I liked it so much I asked for (and got) another night in the guest room.

Charlie spent the  next day, flushed and lethargic on the couch, which I kind of liked.  At one point he moaned, “Who made me sick?  God or Pharoah?”  Hmmmm. Something to ponder.

As I write, Dan has just informed me that Miss P has pooped her pants.  I find this encouraging, as it may mean that the bug is moving south and we are close the finish line.

I think I can…I think I can…I think I can…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2013 9:28 pm

    oh you know, it’s probably just as well that you didn’t include a photo… and Happy Belated Birthday to Dan!

  2. March 3, 2013 9:32 pm

    Lucy – without these moments, days and nights, there would be no blogs or future stories.. We still laugh recalling a night of all kids throwing up, trying to get new sheets covering each bed – new pjs, running the washing machine….what a great husband Dan was to give you that break. Celebrate the story making times!
    P.S. I too, was completely blindsided by Downton – I had no warning at all of the plot twist – but knew the moment the camera went to the car – I shouted “no, no” at the TV but the writers didn’t listen to me.

  3. Julie Childs permalink
    March 4, 2013 1:05 pm

    you can, you can, you can! I’ve seen you do it. Nini

Leave a Reply

