Skip to content

Where Have We Been For Two Weeks?

February 24, 2013

engagement 008

My blog has gone silent for two weeks for many reasons.  As most of you know, there was a most distressing event last Sunday on Downton Abbey.  I lost the will to write.  Or cook and clean for that matter.  It doesn’t take much.

I can’t talk about it lest I spoil it for the Peppers’ favorite librarian, Miss Susan who as of Friday had not yet tuned in. Unfortunately, I had gotten wind that we would lose a major character in the finale, although I knew not who or how.  This made for a nail-biting viewing experience. Something as innocuous as a game of billiards between Lord Grantham and Cousin Shrimpy became a death trap in my mind.  Would Lord Grantham be impaled on the pool cue?  Sustain a head injury from an errant ball?  I  wish.  It would have been better that way.

Cousin Shrimpy’s name did serve to lighten the mood.  I won’t say any more about it as I’m hardly one to point a finger at Shrimpy’s mother for  calling her offspring by an unusal name.

If there is a silver lining, it is that tragedy brings us together.  A special thank you to my cousin David and his wife, to whom I have not spoken in a year, for texting to see how I was doing Monday morning after the tragic episode.  Although it is hard to face Season 4, we fans will soldier on together.

Before the sad weekend, was the infinitely more mentionable and thrilling  Valentine’s Day rooftop engagement of George and Claire.  Claire reports that she was totally surprised, although she did wonder why George was carrying a small oriental rug with him as he led her up to the top floor of Hope Academy (to “help Dan fix a computer”).  Long story short, George knelt on said rug, on the snow-covered roof to propose marriage to Mary Claire Holovaty in full view of the city skyline.  The couple then enjoyed a romantic candle-lit dinner for two, pre-laid by George on an otherwise abandoned floor at the top of the building (pictured above). Dan played a significant role, lighting about a hundred candles and then hiding to make sure the building didn’t burn down before the happy couple arrived. The twins have been eager to inform people that when Uncle George marries Miss Claire, “George is going to be our uncle!”

But Before the sad Downton weekend, and the thrilling engagement of Uncle George, we enjoyed a seven day  visit with Nini. She worked so hard babysitting and cleaning and playing while she was here.   In addition to her general helpfulness, her visit was very needed, if only to inform me that it is time to buy the twins some new underwear.  Charlie’s little Mickey Mouse briefs, she noted, just barely cover his bottom.  This may be because I bought his underwear almost three years ago when he was barely two years old, and potty training.  Honestly, it never occurred to me to buy them new underwear.  I remember feeling so relieved to have them out of diapers and thinking, “Well, now they have their underwear.  So that’s done!” Underwear, I have now been informed, is not a one time purchase.

And always there is the snow.  So much snow.  I had to pull Miss P and the Bean down the block to Patty’s on a little sled for their weekly morning date.

And that’s about it. Quite enough for now.

DSCN0239

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Myra Arnold permalink
    February 24, 2013 10:12 pm

    I”m so glad to hear that I’m not the only one who is grieving the shocking event on Downton Abbey. I was devastated. How long do we have to wait until Season 4?

  2. Beth Saav permalink
    February 24, 2013 10:31 pm

    My joy at seeing you back online surpasses my grief at the turn of events on Downton. Keep writing and I think we’ll all be fine.

  3. February 26, 2013 2:23 am

    Oh yay for George! Tell him “Congrats” from Mike and me. We would love to see hime sometime!

Leave a Reply

