Skip to content

The Dog Days

January 24, 2013

We are shut-in.  It’s been below zero all week.  The children have coughs and fevers and can’t go to preschool.  I can’t knit, because I have made a mistake and am waiting for help to arrive (Claire?).  My kindle library book just expired and disappeared.  And if all that isn’t enough, last night getting out of the bathtub I happened to notice this on the floor:

002I screamed.  Dan rushed in.  Thank God I saw the soap in time.  It was very dramatic. We think someone in this houseful of people is trying to do me in.
If you do not realize what a lethal weapon a bar of soap can be, then you should watch Downton Abbey.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire permalink
    January 24, 2013 7:51 pm

    I’ll be over tonight!

  2. Grammie permalink
    January 25, 2013 2:41 am

    Why is this called the Dog Days?

    • January 25, 2013 3:51 am

      Well since you asked, the phrase “The Dog Days” typically refers to the warmest days of summer which, in the southern hemisphere (in which we are not) usually occur at the end of January (in which we are).

  3. Terra permalink
    January 25, 2013 9:01 pm

    I can read your plea between the lines. Yes, I’ll help you with your knitting.

  4. Susan permalink
    January 28, 2013 9:14 pm

    There’s an O’Brien in your home!!! Alert!!!!

Leave a Reply

