Skip to content

V-I-C-T-O-R-Y

January 21, 2013

Victory was ours on Thursday.  We made it home to Minneapolis.  If I learned one thing from the experience it was this: when traveling by plane, always bring a little wheelchair along.  The crowds parted.  We paraded like royalty through the Birmingham, Chicago, and Minneapolis airports with throngs of smiling, waving people on either side of us.  Airline staff were fighting each other to get a chance to help the little guy in the tiny wheelchair who peered at them through thick glasses.  I have to confess I kept the cause of the wheelchair to myself, and the way his  socked feet dangled  you can understand why it was widely assumed he had been in a wheelchair for more than four days (if you know what I mean).  My neighbor Patty said that after the wonderful experience she had traveling with her husband who was in a wheelchair she thought of renting him out with his wheelchair to enhance the airport experience of the public. Just imagine how much we could get for Charlie!

The travel was just so relaxing for me.  After a helpful army of volunteers had carried my children onto the plane and gotten them all settle in their own row (“the children’s row” as my peppers call it), and the children were all busily studying the safety card as they do before each flight, a flight attendant came over to my row where I was relaxing to ask if she could bring me anything before the other passengers got on.  First rate service, I tell you!

While in flight, Miss P spontaneously treated her fellow passengers to a few numbers from Les Miserables (at top volume) including, “Do You Hear The People Sing”, and “Little People”, then she went right into a few Christmas Carols.  On our second flight, I recognized a man from the first plane.  To my surprise, he sat right behind the children’s row.  He glanced over at me, “In case she sings again,” he explained sheepishly.

Our return to Minneapolis has been very cold, indeed.  The temperature this morning was -10 degrees.  Under the temperature it said “feels like -40”.  I don’t know what “feels like” is, if not the temperature.  On top of the parking ramp, fighting our way through the wind at Children’s Hospital today, it sure felt like -40.  I wouldn’t have chosen to take the children out of our house, but we had Charlie’s follow-up orthopedic appointment.  Charlie was rewarded for coming out on so cold a morning with a red and white striped, glow-in-the-dark cast. (or “glow-up-in-the-dark” as he calls it…but only the white stripe “glows up”.)

Elisabeth woke up with a cold which barred her from the Sibling Play Room at the hospital, so she went down the block to Patty’s.  While I took Charlie for the casting, and Annie for shots, Miss P spent a lovely morning in the bright sunny Play Room.  She was the only child in the room today and enjoyed the exclusive attention of the teacher, who gave her a glowing report that included: “was tooting a lot”.  Ah, well, it could happen to anybody.

Below: “Candy Cane or Cast?” and “Sleeping off a case of the toots”.

Birmingham2013 111

Birmingham2013 109-001

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Grammie permalink
    January 21, 2013 9:23 pm

    Tell Charlie he has a “Roll Tide” cast.

  2. January 21, 2013 10:23 pm

    Sooo thankful that the trips through airports and the stratusphere were so upbeat — we were praying for “the parting of the waters” for ya’all. Miss you.

Leave a Reply

