Skip to content

A Little Les Miserables (Ms. P sings)

January 12, 2013

We have two more days in balmy Birmingham, before we fly off to the frozen tundra.  One of the hilights of the three weeks for the children has been driving around Birmingham listening to Nini’s Les Miserables soundtrack.  They now spend quite a bit of time analyzing the plot and talking about which character they will be when they perform Les Miserables themselves.  Initially, there was some talk about Charlie playing the role of Gavroshe, since Gavroshe is a small boy.  This suggestion resulted in tears and Charlie positively insisting that Miss P should play the part, because Gavroshe dies, and Charlie doesn’t want to die.  Upon learning that the characters in a play do not really die, they just pretend to die, Charlie reconsidered.  But decided to take the role of Marius, just in case.  This made everybody happy, until Miss P decided she would rather star as Jean Val Jean (or Jean Boo Jean as she call him).  This decision caused Charlie a lot of angst, because he is not sure Miss P can carry him (as Marius) up out of the sewer on her back.

Needless to say, we’ve all got Les Miserables stuck in our heads.  I overheard Elisabeth skipping around happily singing, “What have I done? Sweet Jesus, what have I done?”

And without further ado, I present Miss P, as Gavroshe (click on the picture to watch the video):

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawn Wielenga permalink
    January 12, 2013 7:15 pm

    Absolutely adorable and impressive–someday she will steal the show in a play or a movie or perhaps Broadway!

  2. Grammie permalink
    January 12, 2013 7:25 pm

    That is an absolutely amazing performance!

  3. melanie permalink
    January 12, 2013 10:02 pm

    Elizabeth says she needs to babysit soon so she can have a major sing a long with the kids. This was awesome!

    • melanie permalink
      January 13, 2013 4:35 am

      I can’t stop watching that video, this is the favorite movie and play in our house, Miss P is the cutest thing ever, I can’t believe she isn’t even 3 yet.

  4. January 13, 2013 12:17 am

    Excellent job by Miss P! (And I’m very glad for you that they are picking out these songs and phrases instead of Master of the House and Lovely Ladies!) I love Les Mis. I hadn’t thought of introducing it to the boys yet, but I’ll have to now and then they’ll have another play to act out at your house.

  5. Cari permalink
    January 13, 2013 11:45 pm

    More! More! Miss P. your fans are screaming for an Encore!

  6. January 14, 2013 3:48 pm

    This is amazing. I can’t believe your kids are memorizing Les Mis!

  7. Melissa permalink
    January 17, 2013 3:32 am

    I laughed so hard I cried.

  8. Rachel permalink
    June 13, 2013 10:06 pm

    Wow, amazing! I was just telling my husband, Curt, about how accomplished, talented, brilliant, witty (you get the idea) you, your kids (and the entire Childs’/Olson clan is) right before watching this clip. We are like most parents, thinking that our kids are pretty brilliant themselves, but then I’ve been sitting here reading your blog (that I just heard about today from my friend Julia Forsyth and Betsy) and after reading all your kid’s witty comments and watching this clip I said to Curt: “Well that explains it, while the Olson kids are listening to Les Miserables, our kids are listening to Alan Jackson’s “Where I Come From”. No really, your kids are just too adorable for words. And I have loved reading your blog…I’ve LOL the whole way through! Thanks for the many laughs.

Leave a Reply

