Skip to content

Birthday

November 14, 2012

Last week was my Birthday.  After much research, George purchased for me the largest laundry basket in the western hemisphere. It rolls.  And it has shoulder straps for going up and down stairs.  I love it.

Dan was working late every night, until midnight at least, for a big event at Hope.  But, contrary to my prediction, he did not forget my Birthday.  We went out to dinner and then gave me the best possible gift, the opportunity to  hide out in our room alone for the rest of the evening. (He also let me pick out some yarn for a knitting project to enjoy alone in my room.)

Dan: “And no matter what happens, do not come out.  I can handle it.  Unless you hear me scream, ‘I can’t handle it.’ Then come out.”

As soon as we got home I tip-toed up to my room.  Being the Christ-figure in our family, Dan usually puts the children to bed (it isn’t pretty). So, at first, they didn’t even notice my absence.

Until I heard Dan announce in a booming voice, “Now kids, mom is in her room and you are not going to see her for the rest of night. Mom is having some alone time, and we are not going in there.”

Of course all hell broke loose.  I have never heard such screaming and crying and clawing at the door and trying to break away from Dan and sobs of, “I have to tell her something!  I need to see her! I have to tell her something!  I need to see her, etc.”

But I did not come out.

Actually, I tried to come out, but the doorknob fell off (on the wrong side), and so I couldn’t come out.  I just peeped through the keyhole at the mayhem.  Which was probably for the Birthday-best.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth S permalink
    November 14, 2012 8:45 pm

    This sounds very, very similar to birthday scenarios which have unfolded in our house. I’m glad you were able to stay in the room, come what may. And happy belated birthday!

  2. Grammie permalink
    November 14, 2012 11:15 pm

    I laughed out loud! What an interesting family you have. Tell Uncle Daddy hi.

  3. aunt sally permalink
    November 15, 2012 2:33 pm

    no need for therapy i just read the Olson blog every morning

  4. Anna permalink
    November 16, 2012 5:32 pm

    Oh my. Lucy, I can not express how much I enjoy your blog. You are such a great writer, and you so aptly capture the motherhood experience. I REALLY hope you publish a book some day based on your life!
    Laughing up here in Canada….

Leave a Reply

