Skip to content

Mall?

October 8, 2012

This morning dawned cold and gloomy and felt like the first day of winter.  I promptly texted Kendra: “Mall?”  She texted back: “That’s what I was thinking.” One of the best things about going to the  Mall of America is that the mall boasts the world’s largest underwater aquarium (it’s not very big, so apparently most of the world prefers their aquariums above ground) and we enjoy a free educator’s membership.  So, before leaving the mall,  I usually take the kids for a brisk walk through the shark tunnel.  Then I can say, “Today I took the children to an aquarium.” Which sounds so much better than, “Met my friends at the mall.”

We haven’t been to Underwater World all summer, because I prefer to be in the water ourselves when we can.  Miss P was reluctant to go, because she did not want to “get nudy”.  She was relieved to hear that we would be viewing the fish with our clothes on.

Charlie was most excited to be back down below with the sharks.  He was at top volume shouting: “Oh mom look, that shark is so furious!  He’s furious mom!”

Miss P agreed that he looked furious and added: “He has an eye on us.”

But more thrilling even than the shark viewing, we encountered a whole flock of nuns dressed in their habits.  There must have been at least ten of them.  I gathered the children and whispered, “Look ya’ll, real nuns, just like the ones in Sound of Music.”  With a cry of “NUUUNS!”  the three peppers rushed the nuns at top speed.  “Stop, stop, you don’t want to scare them,” I called them back, “Nuns must be approached quietly.”

The nuns were quite pleased to be approached, and gifted the children with little cards with a picture of Jesus on the front and a prayer of contrition on the back that began,”O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended Thee, and I detest all my sins…”

The cards were well received… a perfect gift for the riff-raff.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Olson permalink
    October 8, 2012 9:24 pm

    Chuckles here. When I was their age and saw flocks of nuns I would duck — prayer card messages sent with a “look!”

  2. Myra Arnold permalink
    October 9, 2012 2:17 am

    Free educator’s membership? What does this include and how do you get it???

    • October 11, 2012 11:51 pm

      Myra, you can get one with your HIH I.D. It used to include your children also, but they discontinued that this year and now it is just the teacher. Our free family membership expired in November.

      • Myra Arnold permalink
        October 12, 2012 12:25 pm

        Thanks for the tip. I never knew that.

Leave a Reply

