Skip to content

Update

September 7, 2012

1. We haven’t gone AWOL, we’ve been a-traveling.  The children and I traveled to Alabama, then up to Tennessee, then down to Alabama, then back to Minneapolis, then over to Wisconsin (with Dan), then back to Minneapolis.  I’ve learned a few tricks to flying alone with children. My main tip is to be the first ones on the plane and get seats together.  This is tricky with Southwest because they don’t have assigned seats and they don’t let families board first.  They do however let the medically fragile passengers on first. So I now request early boarding for my children due to their medical condition.  It’s a little condition I call: “Episodic Somnolence Induced Enuresis”, or in layman’s terms: (which you should never use at the airport) “If-they-fall-asleep-they-could-wet-their-pants.” This sad condition affects millions of children worldwide.  I’m thinking of holding a Walk-A-Thon.

My seatmate was not much for conversation:

A flattering in-flight drawing of Aunt Betsy:

2.  The day we returned from our travels, we got a new housemate. The kids moved into J’s room, Dan and I moved into the nursery, and our new friend, Nicole, moved into our former bedroom.  I’m still picking up the pieces, but we are very excited about our new friend.  Some people, actually most people, aren’t sure why we keep packing in more housemates (Uncle Carl, visiting grandparents, Nicole, and soon Uncle George), but it seems that the more adults we have around keeping me company the less likely I am to grab hold of Dan’s legs when it’s time for work, crying, “Don’t leave me! Don’t leave me!”

The children, however, are very confused.  But they are getting used to the turnover.  We forgot to tell Charlie about Nicole and when he spotted her walking down the hall the first morning, he paused his cereal eating to calmly tell Elisabeth and Miss P: “Hey guys, I just saw somebody we don’t know walking around.”  Later, he asked if Nicole (or Nicolas as he calls her) is our “foster grown-up”.  We explained the difference between foster care and a rental situation.  After listening carefully Elisabeth asked, “Sooo, will she be going on dates with you and Dad?”  I didn’t want to go into the difference between a renter and a sister-wife, so I just said, “No” to that one. Below, the peppers new digs:

3. We go back to school next week.  The twins will go three days, Miss P and Annie one day, and I will work one day as the school psychologist.  All four children have a school supply list.  I’ve been feeling very nervous about school supplies.   Buying the right school supplies and uniforms for each child caused me more anxiety than writing special ed. plans, meeting with parents, etc. (my official duties).  Even Annie has school supplies: a photo of herself and a box of baby-wipes.  I wish I had a picture of them in their uniforms, but I’ve been to0 busy worrying about school supplies to think about taking a picture.

That’s all for now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Grammie . . . or Not Your Grammie permalink
    September 7, 2012 6:58 pm

    Maybe one of the funniest things you have ever posted. Keep it humorous, Lucy, and you’ll get through the day.

  2. islandsojourner permalink
    September 8, 2012 2:48 am

    You’re hilarious! I love it!

  3. Amber Robbins-Ghormley permalink
    September 8, 2012 5:31 am

    Lucy…our best laugh of the week. I could hardly get the words out reading to Matt I was laughing so hard. miss you guys.

  4. Ashli permalink
    September 12, 2012 3:13 pm

    Where did you get that darling map of the US??? Did you make it?

    • September 14, 2012 1:58 am

      Ashli, my sister, Betsy, made it for me for Christmas last year.

Leave a Reply

