Skip to content

Mu-Mu

June 7, 2012

This is me in my mu-mu.* Special thanks to Susanna who encouraged me to go ahead and spend that dollar when we found my mu-mu and rescued it from the “damaged” rack at the S. A.  I took to my mu-mu (also known as the not-so-little-black-dress) a few weeks before Annie was born.  I questioned whether this was a good look for my very pregnant self a few days before the birth when Charlie, leaping in circles around me, explained: “I’m pretending you are a basketball hoop!”

I was wearing the mu-mu when my water broke in the middle of the Mall of America on my way to see “What to Expect When You are Expecting”.  I would not have been at the mall had Dan granted me my wish of a nice brisk labor-inducing 2.5 mile walk around Lake Harriet.  He denied my request due to the heat (97 degrees) and instead suggested  a walk in the nice cool mall, which I agreed to only if we could see “What to Expect When You are Expecting” as it was the eve of Annie’s due date.  Let me say, for the record, it is much better to go into labor at the mall than halfway around a Lake.  It was sensational in fact, with Dan running at top speed to get the van, a crowd of onlookers, and multiple people offering to call an ambulance.  How exciting!

Also, exciting was the fact that I then got to leave my hothouse full of children and move into a delivery room where I enjoyed exclusive control of the thermostat.  Poor Dan shivered all night.  When asked, “Didn’t you bring a sweatshirt?”  He reminded me that it was 97 degrees when we left our house, and he had no idea I was planning to give birth in a refrigerator.

This week has been blessedly unexciting. I’m pretty much just sittin’ around in my mu-mu staring at my baby.  I like to pretend this is my first baby.  I never really had a first baby.  The unexpected blessing of the fifth – first baby has been made possible by the village it took to whisk the other four away.  A special shout-out to Grandma and Grandpa, Ni-Ni and Papaw, Betsy, Sarah, Lisa, Tiffany, The Fisher Family, Johanna, and JANELLE (who gets all caps).  How can I every thank you?

*Please ignore the cord from my iron which looks like it is hanging precariously over the crib.  Rest assured: optical illusion.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber Robbins-Ghormley permalink
    June 9, 2012 5:36 am

    Lucy…you are hilarious! I love that your water broke in the mall of America it seems like the perfect place for the labor of your fifth – first baby to begin. Enjoy!

  2. Sarah permalink
    June 15, 2012 7:58 pm

    Dear Lucy, I have met you once at Jubilee Community Church — I am married to Bradley Johannsen. And your and my mutual friend, Widdy Bird, told me to look at your blog (I blog too) — finally this afternoon, I did. I am glad to have finally done it. Congratulations on your new little girl! And I hope our paths cross again some day (-: Signed Sarah of the Four Hoodlums (mine are 6, 4 1/2, 3, and almost 2)

Leave a Reply

