Skip to content

Four

May 8, 2012

Today the twins turn four.  They don’t know it, though, as we declared Sunday their birthday since it was an easier afternoon to have a little party with their playgroup, and I didn’t want to have to deal with the requests for more presents today.  So they are blissfully unaware of the significance of the day.  Elisabeth did stop me in my tracks this morning asking, “I know my party is over, but is my Birthday still there?”

“Well, sort of,” I replied, breathing a sigh of relief when she did not probe further.

I am relieved the birthday has past, primarily because I really do not look forward to Birthday parties, but also because it sounds so much better to say (when people  ask) that the twins are four, Miss P is two, and the baby is due in a few weeks.

The party past without incident, beginning at 4 p.m.  We congratulated ourselves on our efficiency when we looked at the clock post party games, pizza, cake and ice-cream, and it was only 4:45.   Perhaps next year people could just drive-thru for a piece of cake.

The children helped plan the games.  Charlie suggested that it would be fun all line everybody up and then see who has the biggest tummy.  As I’m pretty sure I’d win, and it seemed rude to set our guests up for failure, I conveniently forgot to facilitate this interesting activity.  J’s addition to the games was a round of limbo.  A real hit!

The twins enjoyed guessing which cake, race-car or princess, was for Charlie and which was for Elisabeth.  At Elisabeth’s suggestion,” Happy Birthday to Charlie” was sung by the men, followed by a ladies only round of “Happy Birthday Dear Elisabeth”.

Below: the birthday couple, four years old!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber Robbins-Ghormley permalink
    May 8, 2012 9:44 pm

    What a beautiful pair!

  2. May 8, 2012 11:17 pm

    Yes, they were quite pleased with their own photo. Elisabeth suggested they frame that last one for their room. You know, a couples shot.

  3. Claire Holovaty permalink
    May 9, 2012 12:27 am

    I was contemplating dropping by with cupcakes, but I’m glad I didn’t give you away! I love Charlie’s rain boots.

  4. Janice Hendry permalink
    May 9, 2012 12:55 am

    Lucy, Molly and I are your newest blog fans!!!! Your posts bring back sweet memories of a 3 yr old, 15 mo old and newborn!! Wish there had been blogging back then, so it wouldn’t be such a blur in my mind! Enjoy those cute kiddos!!! Janice

  5. Brooke (Janasky) Smith permalink
    May 9, 2012 2:07 am

    I just cannot say enough how much I love your blog – well written based on a well lived life!! I love you all, happy birthday to them both!

  6. May 9, 2012 3:41 am

    I was hoping for a wife who could spell.

    • May 9, 2012 6:34 pm

      Let the record show I was 5th grade regional champion at the Association of Christian Schools spelling bee.

Leave a Reply

