Skip to content

Nesting (on getting baby-ready)

May 1, 2012

I have not updated our blog in a few weeks.  I think it’s probably due to the takeover of the nesting instinct.  Fueled by adrenalin I find myself positively driven to take on uncharacteristic projects such as cleaning out every closet in our house.  Some of my activities make sense.  Yesterday I spent the day washing baby clothes. (Elisabeth wisely sorted everything into piles by color…so if the baby is feeling purple one day it’ll know right where to find it’s two purplish dresses).  I understand the compulsion to wash baby clothes before a baby is born, but I’m not sure why this morning I feel like I will just die if I can’t re-stuff our couch cushions.  Will the baby be scarred if it’s first sight of the couch is a little saggy?

Sometimes, my nesting urges are unfortunate for the people around me.

Kettie and Terra graciously agreed to come over and help me organize our closets.  At the last minute, however, I was felled by an ear infection and pretty much lay on the bed while they cleaned out the closets.  I did make a contribution in the form of lunch.

Special thanks to Mary Olson who sewed some emergency Roman shades for our living room before hightailing it to Texas and out of my clutches.

Last week, Dan received an urgent call to come home from work and fence in our yard.  Kettie generously offered us her fence for the project, which she has been itching to get rid of anyway.  While a part of me knows that it is improbable that a newborn will roll out of our house, down the sidewalk and into oncoming traffic, in my nesting state I was ready to drive over to Kettie’s and rip out her fence with my bare hands.  With Dan’s help, I have now accepted that this dream will not be a reality, at least before the baby comes, but as a consolation prize he did buy me a nice lawn chair at Home Depot to sit in while I guard the children as they face daily peril in our unfenced yard.

Lest anyone thing I’m the only one, I recall lugging an overhead projector from Hope Academy over to Mary Brown’s house just days before she was due to birth Steel so that she could paint an emergency mural of a tree in the bedroom of Ruby and Francis.

I would also like to point out that the nesting instinct does not just affect mothers.  I will never forget calling Dan with the joyful news that, much to our surprise, Charlie and Elisabeth were ready to be discharged from the NICU, only to be told  that I could not bring them home, because he had not yet created files for their future important papers.  Also, he wanted to put a storm door on the porch.

My nesting frenzy has resulted in some useful accomplishments including packing my hospital bag.  I still have not fully recovered from the disappointment of never getting to pack my hospital bag when the twins were born.  When I drove myself to the hospital wearing flip-flops and pajamas( at 31 weeks) I told Dan I’d be right back. I must confess, that when the nurse told me that I was in labor and would not be going home until the babies were born, I think I wailed not for the health of the unborn children, but for the little bag that would now be packed by Dan.

And I have finished setting up the nursery.  The nursery this time around is a  corner of the little office that adjoins our bedroom.  I must say it is an improvement over Miss P’s nursery which was the laundry room.  This was actually her best room to date as she has now been demoted to a closet (don’t worry the door is left open).  This was okay until I got too big to slide in beside the crib to lay her down.  Now I have to get a running start and sort of toss her into the closet and hope for the best.  She doesn’t seem to mind.  Nor has she noticed that her room is a closet, and proudly points her closet out to visitors saying, “P’s room!”  We spent last weekend in Wisconsin with Dan’s family and no sooner had we carried our bags to our room, than she pointed to the closet joyfully shouting, “P’s room!”

With three weeks to go, it seems the one thing left undone is the choosing of a name.  We accidentally named our previous three children( Charles, Elisabeth, and Mary) after British royalty (Oh no:  a theme!)  You’d be surprised how often people point this out to me.  But breaking the cycle would rule out some of our favorite names such as: John, William, Henry, Margaret (of Scotland), and Norman.  (We’re actually okay giving up Norman.)

Charlie has not been very interested in talking baby names since we broke the new to him that we would not be naming the baby Charlie as he wished.  He grieved this with many tears (as is his custom).  He has since maintained that Bruce shall be the name, and he will not discuss it further.  Elisabeth like to talk names.  Among her favorites are Bernard or Uncle George if it is a boy and Rose or Knutson if it is a girl (Knutson after her dear friend at church Mrs. Knutson who kept her once when I was very sick and introduced her to the joys of grape juice thus sealing a special place in her heart).  Knutson is okay, I guess, but I’m not sure what we would call her.  Knut?  And then we’d always have to be explaining to people that the K is not silent.  That’s K-Newt.

Dan has found it helpful to consult databases of Puritan names. The Puritans had lovely names such as: Faith, Joy, and Grace, and then there are the others including: If-God-Had-Not-Saved-Me-I-Would-Be-Damned, and Flee-Fornication.  Again, the potential for damaging nicknames rules out these popular choices.

So please, if you have any suggestions, it’s open season.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Papaw permalink
    May 1, 2012 6:16 pm

    Glad you are back on-line.

  2. ostroms permalink
    May 1, 2012 6:56 pm

    so glad you are back. I was worried you had the baby and everyone forgot to tell me. And I laughed out loud reading your blod today!

  3. Carolyn permalink
    May 1, 2012 7:02 pm

    Victoria or William–come on, that’s not really breaking the theme, is it?

  4. ashli permalink
    May 1, 2012 8:06 pm

    Agnes
    Aggie for short
    ***Im just a little blog stalker from MVMOM

  5. Ge Ge permalink
    May 1, 2012 8:30 pm

    Brenda or Brendan. Girl or boy. Problem solved.

  6. May 1, 2012 10:29 pm

    How about “Capability” Olson (I saw it in Books and Culture). It is gender neutral, I think.

  7. Brother Bear permalink
    May 3, 2012 1:51 am

    Cape

  8. May 6, 2012 5:43 am

    I have to say I love both William and Henry. I wanted them as first names, but compromised for middle names for Jack and Sebastian.

  9. tonja permalink
    March 3, 2014 7:41 pm

    Hil-ar-ious

Leave a Reply

