Skip to content

“One Faith, One Hope, One Baptism…”

April 9, 2012

The talk for the last few weeks at our house has been Elisabeth’s Easter Baptism.  She overheard Dan and I mention that people would be baptized at church on Easter Sunday. “Put my name on that list!” She piped up.  From the other end of the room, Charlie, who has an aversion to wetness insisted: “Don’t put my name on the list.” “And do NOT put Miss P on the list.” Elisabeth added.

There followed two weeks of discussion about whether anyone so short could possibly be ready for believer’s baptism.  “I do want to be baptized, because I do want to follow Jesus.” She argued.  “When I was little,” She continued, “I didn’t understand about baptism.  I didn’t even understand what a pattern was.  I would just say, ‘Yellow, yellow, yellow, yellow… ”  She has a point.  She can really make a pattern.

So we put her name on the list.

Thursday night a church elder and his wife came to our home to talk with Elisabeth.  It was somewhat awkward explaining that they’d better come early because the candidate for baptism goes to bed about 6:30 if she hasn’t had a nap.  They were very understanding, and upon learning that this was Elisabeth’s first week sleeping all night without a diaper commented, “Well this certainly is a big week for her: baptism and big-girl underwear!”

After her interview I was tucking her in and said, “Well, I thought that went well, did you?”  She nodded.  “And we all feel you are ready to be baptized.”

“Eeeeeeeee!” She squealed.

Which I think is a very appropriate response to the prospect of one’s baptism.

Sunday, she joined the other candidates for a brief baptism class before church.   Then, as we waited in the sanctuary, I had to admonish her to stop climbing up on her chair and leaping  out into the isle.  Just nerves probably. She wore a dress that Mary made and J wore in our wedding.  We thought she might change her mind at the last minute, but, while the congregation sang, “Nothing but the blood of Jesus” (a “Psalty song” Charlie whispered to me) Dan lifted her into the tank, as she was too small to step in, and she joyfully recieved the sacrament of baptism.

Her words after: “I want to do it again and again!”

Charlie says he will be ready in “probably one to two days”.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ge Ge, also known as Grammie permalink
    April 9, 2012 5:55 pm

    So Sweet. So Sweet.

  2. Nini permalink
    April 10, 2012 5:34 pm

    Great Post!

Leave a Reply

