Skip to content

By A Thread (on nighttime potty training)

April 5, 2012

I feel like we’ve been hanging by a thread these last two weeks.  Doctors appointments with children just do me in, and I’ve had children along for four of the six appointments (one Miss P check up, one prenatal check up, and four times to the ear doctor) in the past week.

Thankfully, I am almost recovered from my ear infections.  At our final visit to the ear doctor yesterday the doctor announced that my ears were looking much better and Elisabeth clapped her little hands and shouted, “The Lord heard our prayers!”  The doctor was a little taken aback,  but recovered quickly to say, “Well, He certainly did.”

To complicate matters, it is J’s spring break and she’s lookin’ for fun.  Every few minutes she asks to do something fun, and every few minutes I say no and feel like the destroyer of fun. Our conversations go something like this:

Her: “Can I watch t.v.?”

Me: “No.”

Her: “Can I use your laptop?”

Me: “No.”

Her: “Can I call somebody on your cell phone?”

Me: “No.”

Her: “Can I have a friend sleep-over?”

Me: “No.”

Her: “Can we go to the park. Go to the mall.  Go to the movies?”

Me: “No. No. No.”

Her: “What can I do?”

Me: “You can climb a tree.  Have a picnic.  Read.  Draw.  Rollerblade. Shoot Hoops.”

The cold stare apparently  means that these activities do not qualify as fun.

She did bring two friends with us to swim at an indoor pool today. That qualified.

(It was the outing that almost wasn’t because the battery in our van died again.  We have discovered that someone has been punching the dome light on.  The twins insist neither of them have touched it and Elisabeth insists, in her tiny voice, that, at least this time, “The Lord did a miracle and the light just came on.” I am skeptical, but arguing with her is like arguing with a God-glorifying mouse.)

We spent the whole day at the pool.  It was glorious.  We arrived home worn out (I thought) and happy.

Her: “What are we doing tomorrow?”

So, I really am trying to make it a fun week, but I’m feeling so un-fun. The un-fun is due in part to my largeness and in part to un-sleep.  Elisabeth has been up so many times in the night this week “thinking about a crocodile”.  After one of these episodes she woke me to give me the good news: “The Lord answered my prayers.  I am not thinking about a crocodile anymore.  I am thinking about donut holes!”

Unfortunately, the week of the crocodile has coincided with our first attempt at having the twins sleep in underwear overnight.   If only we had known about the crocodile we would never started the night-training.  Between the two, it’s been up and down all night.

We prepared mightily for the removal of the night-time diapers with new underwear, stacks of ready towels, a little training potty by the bed (I prefer to think of it as an old fashioned chamber pot) and last but not least chucks pads on their beds.

Unfortunately, Elisabeth overheard me use the word “chucks pad” in conversation with Dan, and, never one to miss a new vocab word, has taken every opportunity to use it.  (Which makes me want to throw up every time).

Elisabeth getting into bed: “Oh this chucks pad is sooo soft!”

Elisabeth waking up (with a big stretch): “Oh I slept SO well on my chucks pad!”

And she has not wet her chucks pad once.  Poor Charlie on the other hand was wet multiple times in the night the first night, and upon waking up in his third pair of underwear shouted with joy, “I stayed dry! I stayed dry!”

They were so quiet in their room this morning I peeked in to check on them and this is what I saw:

That would be the three musketeers reading sweetly on a chucks pad.

In addition to feeling un-fun, I’ve been feeling a little guilty that I haven’t done any Easter activities with the kids. Betsy Kirk has a wonderful series of Easter Readings for children on her blog: Partofthemain.wordpress.com. My cousin Susanna is doing resurrection eggs (or as her three year old Wheeler calls them: “Little Erection Eggs”) with a symbol of the Easter story inside each one to be opened nightly in anticipation of Sunday. So many ideas.  So little energy.

(Speaking of cousin Wheeler, he is coming to visit in a week and a half.  Susanna and the boys will occupy the nursery, and the twins will “room-make” with J and P.  “Don’t even change the sheets.” Susanna admonished.  Which leads me to wonder if she will enjoy sleeping on the chucks pads? This is not unlike the time Grandma and Grandpa came and Grandma cheerfully instructed me not to change the sheets…little knowing that six children had just enjoyed grilled cheese sandwiches under those very covers.)

But back to Easter plans, we haven’t dyed any eggs or done any decorating.  But I’m thinking that perhaps this year orphan care covers over a multitude of undone Easter crafts.  Maybe we’ll watch a Jesus movie.

Wishing everyone a blessed Holy Week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber Robbins-Ghormley permalink
    April 5, 2012 6:47 am

    We laugh every time we read these. Thanks for sharing bits of life. I think you’re fun. Wish we could have joined you for a swim.

  2. Carolyn permalink
    April 9, 2012 6:52 pm

    Not sure what chuck pads are, but I’m in the same boat with you–no Easter crafts, no energy (I’m 22 weeks prego), many kids, and 2 night-time trainers (one who’s been working at it for 2 years). Hang in there, and maybe check out the Bedwetting Store online. We use the Malem alarms and they help (although, for our happy bedwetting family it’s certainly a process even with helpful tools). Thanks for sharing, Lucy!

Leave a Reply

