Skip to content

A Public Appeal

February 20, 2012

J had the day out of school today, and with no plans, the five of us walked to the Seward Co-Op for a little lunch.  By the time we got our food and paid, there were no more tables available.  So, we all sat down on the floor to wait for one to open up.  A tiny two person table was available first, so I walked all around the restaurant gathering up five chairs.  At this point a bigger table was open so we started moving all of our chairs over to that table.  An able-bodied man hopped off his stool at the counter and took the little table we were leaving saying, “I’d rather sit at a table.”

“Oh, sure, ” I replied, “Except that we do need these chairs.”

“I just need one, ” he said grabbing my chair.

“Well, I will have to stand up, ” I shrugged.

He just stared at me.

So, I ate standing up.

All this to say if you see a pregnant lady with four children just about to sit down and enjoy her lunch, please, please, do not steal her chair.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Olson permalink
    February 21, 2012 12:34 am

    I am embarassed FOR that man at his total lack of manners displayed today at lunch. That would be much less likely to happen in the mannerly culture of the South. Equality for women run amuck……

  2. Teresa permalink
    February 21, 2012 5:53 pm

    WOW. That’s unbelievable. So much for Minnesota nice! yikes.

  3. February 23, 2012 9:37 pm

    That’s so embarrassing (for the gentleman). I have had several fathers, and even a few mothers, not get up when I walk in the room 9 months pregnant and they are sitting in the obvious doctor chair. It’s kind of weird having to ask to sit down at the computer because they are rolling around on my stool!

Leave a Reply

