Skip to content

Do you see what I see?

February 15, 2012

Can you name these household objects?

A Can Opener?  Nope.  This is Charlie’s gun.

My Blow Dryer?  Wrong Again.  This is Charlie’s Bug Gun.

A Cork Screw?  Nope.  Charlie’s Old Gun.

A Tape Measure?  No.  This is Charlie’s new gun.

Before I had my own little boy, I read about a study on the expression of masculine traits in the male children of same-sex couples.  They measured this by recording the frequency with which the male-child bit his breakfast toast into the shape of a gun.  I thought this a  bizarre behavior to study.  Then, along came Charlie.

Everything we do becomes a shoot-out.  I recently bought a bunch of beads and string and invited the children to make necklaces.  They were both delighted.  Elisabeth continued as she began.  Charlie quickly changed directions with the announcement: “I am going to go outside and shoot something with these beads.  Pow!  Pow!”  And he methodically jettisoned each little bead off the end of the string. For the record: Dan doesn’t own a gun.  He doesn’t hunt.  And Charlie hasn’t ever seen any violent t.v.  (In fact he won’t even watch Sesame street due to the “scary hair” on some of the muppets).

This morning I outlined a flower for each of the children and they cut up paper and made mosaics.  I complimented Charlie on his nice work.

Charlie: “But next time, can I make a gun?”

What can I do, but throw my hands up in the air and watch my back, lest I be shot with a piece of toast?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Olson permalink
    February 16, 2012 1:16 am

    Charlie is such a boy !

    //
    B A N G =======================
    B A N G =======================
    (___))_======
    ********
    ********
    ********
    ********

    Tell Charlie Grandma sees guns in unusual places too 😉

  2. Mary Olson permalink
    February 16, 2012 1:17 am

    SO, for whatever technological reason the gun I so carefully composed looks totally different when posted 😦
    Perhaps Charlie will still be able to see a gun?

  3. Beth Saav permalink
    February 16, 2012 3:23 am

    So true. Never thought I would be in a gun-totin’ household, but now family Nerf gun wars are a favorite evening activity with all four boys (and the two of us girls, too).

  4. Grammie B permalink
    February 16, 2012 9:40 pm

    Mary, you are an artist. That is an incredible gun!

  5. Brother Bear permalink
    March 4, 2012 10:56 pm

    I love your blog. Is this true? “…They measured this by recording the frequency with which the male-child bit his breakfast toast into the shape of a gun.”

Leave a Reply

