Skip to content

Hobbies

February 4, 2012

I’ve been thinking for some time, and resolving since New Year’s Day to cultivate some new hobbies to make my days at home more interesting.  Well, I think I’ve found my hobby: wiping things down with my Norwex cloth.  I just can’t stop.  After a smashing success of a Norwex party, I was able to stock the house with Norwex products for free.  Thanks to all who paid for their products with money to make this possible.   If you are intrigued and want to order, my friend Megan has a website: http://meganmathis.norwex.biz

There’s certainly no shortage of things to clean around here.  Just yesterday, while I was meeting with a social worker, the little peppers cleverly spread cereal all over the living room and then rode over it with their tricycles to pulverize it and grind it into the carpet. It seems they live to make messes.

I’ve tried my hand at a few other things this month (yogurt making, bread baking, knitting, to name a few), but so far, nothing has stuck. It could be worse.  I recall it was this time last year that I decided to foster dogs, beginning with a small litter of pit-bulls (a hobby that was quickly terminated by Dan when they escaped their pen while we were at church and had diarrhea in his shoe.)

Aah, February.  The only thing that never fails is a good book.  Which I don’t have.

Please, please could someone recommend one in the comments?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth S permalink
    February 5, 2012 1:16 am

    You never fail to make me smile with your comments.Have you read “Pope Joan” by Donna Woolfolk Cross? Or Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder?

  2. Sarah permalink
    February 5, 2012 3:27 am

    Hmmmm…. my favorite book of 2011 was “Bonhoeffer” by Metaxas… but my favorite mind-candy of 2011 was “The Hunger Games” trilogy…

  3. ostroms permalink
    February 5, 2012 3:43 am

    Agree with “Hunger Games” and the rest. Also, I really liked “Blackout” and “All Clear” by Connie Willis.

  4. Lisa permalink
    February 5, 2012 6:18 am

    The rumor going around is that our next book club book is “Cutting for Stone”. Should we set a date?

  5. February 5, 2012 6:28 am

    Anything by Naguib Mafouz is entertaining. I liked ‘Children of the Alley’ the best and the Cairo Trilogy is also good.

  6. Mary Olson permalink
    February 5, 2012 1:43 pm

    so in my humble opinion your most promising hobby is your photography — perhaps another blog focusing on “the world that Lucy sees” — you know, the world beyond the Kingdom of the Peppers 🙂

  7. Janet Tripp permalink
    February 6, 2012 8:34 pm

    This is a dangerous question to ask me, but here you go,then. Shadows on the Rock-Willa Cather, Gilead-Marilynne Robinson, The Thirteenth Tale-Diane Setterfield, Poisonwood Bible-Barbara Kingsolver, The Spirit Catches You And You Fall Down-Anne Fadiman and Alias Grace-Margaret Atwood.

  8. melanie permalink
    February 24, 2012 1:45 am

    Stop in and see what we have in the young adult section of the Hope Academy Library. There are quite a few good options there for almost any genre from classics to theology to parenting to “fluff” to whatever. You just might find something good.

Trackbacks

  1. And the (Norwex) Winners Are… | Twins City

Leave a Reply

