Skip to content

Through the Eyes of a Child

January 17, 2012

Sunday was particularly horrible.  Everybody (including me) was fussy all day.  I’ve never been so glad to go to bed.  But at least I knew that Monday was coming, when I could enjoy a quiet morning working at Hope Academy, J. would go back to school, and the children could enjoy a lovely morning of daycare in the Hope Academy library.

Imagine my dismay at 9 p.m. when J. informed me that there was to be no glorious morning at school.  I completely forgot about the Martin Luther King holiday.  The thought of staying home all day with all four children was intolerable, so we hit the ground running at the Mall of America. In our desperation, we arrived well before the stores opened.

The mall never ever fails me.

1. We started at Lego Land where the children built something. (I don’t know what it was but it was really something).

2. We explored the underground aquarium, where we have a free “educators membership”.  We looked at jelly-fish and walked through a tunnel surrounded by sinister sharks.  We saw sting rays and sea turtles.

3. We  went to Barnes and Noble  where the children played with toys and a train table, and we read books.

4. We went home for a nap.

5. After naps, in a rare moment of afternoon energy (afternoon energy is NOT the norm for me) we read Beatrix Potter books and then had a tea party, in front of a roaring fire,  all in character from the books.

6. J. and I worked on a knitting project together.

I must stress that this grand flurry of activity is not the norm for us.

This morning I overheard her social worker ask J. what she did on her day off of school.

“Oh, nothing,” She sighed, “We pretty much just sat around.”

My turn to sigh.

Today the little peppers and I spent the morning at the Wild Rumpus, a bookstore that boasts a roaming chickens, little windows in the floor where you can peer down at busy rats, two chinchillas, two ferrets, a flock of birds, and a tarantula.  You enter through a little child-size purple door. The children love it because it is “spooky”.

But tonight at dinner, when Dan asks them what they did today, I’m quite sure they will answer as they always do: “I can’t remember.”

I offer the photos below as proof that, at least today, we did not “just sit around”.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbie Olson permalink
    January 17, 2012 8:10 pm

    I’m tired after just reading about all you did!

  2. Megan permalink
    January 17, 2012 9:18 pm

    I love Wild Rumpus! Your children are very brave to go there – my mother is terrified of the roaming chickens.

  3. Aunt Sally permalink
    January 18, 2012 3:11 pm

    Personally I love long winter days when Mama has time to post on her blog. I missed you all this fall when you were out and about so much of the time.
    Aunt Sally

Leave a Reply

