Skip to content

A New Approach To An Old Problem

January 16, 2012

Oh, Bedtime, Bedtime, why are you SUCH an ordeal?  The unquenchable thirst!  The sudden bathroom emergencies!  The mysterious and invisible wounds that need so much attention!  I’m always looking for new ideas. Tonight,  I was looking through a stack of piano music that Aunt Barbie gave us when she gave us her piano.  I don’t play very well, but I can pick out a little tune and was intrigued by the soft pastel cover art on A Charm of Lullabies by Benjamin Britten published in 1949.  This sweet book holds lullabies for children, most of them your common garden-variety: “Sleep, sweet little baby, sleep.”  Then I came to Lullaby #4 “A Charm” by Thomas Randolph.  This would definitely constitute a new approach to our bedtime problem.  It reads:

“Quiet sleep!  or I will make Erinnys whip thee with a snake,

And cruel Rhadamanthus take

Thy body to the boiling lake,

Where fire and brimstone never slake;

Thy heart shall burn,

Thy head shall ache,

And every joint about thee quake;

And therefore dare not yet to wake!”

I wonder if this was effective at getting children to sleep through the night in 1949?  I’m not sure how well it would go over with our own little sleepers, but I don’t think I want to find out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 1:42 am

    Don’t complain about the present. It was free! 😉

    (I’d forgot that was book was there)

  2. Judy Hinck permalink
    January 17, 2012 3:45 am

    I’m a friend of “Aunt Barbie”–she set me on to the site–and I love it, am charmed, chuckle heartily–and love this post. I’m thinking of forwarding it to my own son and daughter-in-law dealing with their own 18 month-old sleep hater.

  3. January 17, 2012 7:18 pm

    Very good text. I have been looking for such advices. I like your original style and hope you will publish more frequently.

Leave a Reply

