Skip to content

Left Behind

January 14, 2012

I’m sleeping alone tonight.  It’s the night Dan looks forward to all year: the Ziegler family’s annual all-night Monopoly tournament.  The first year we were invited, I was pregnant with the twins and feeling sick and tired, and was sure I couldn’t stay until the end.  I, unwisely, asked if I could come for the beginning of the tournament and leave if I got sick.  I was quickly informed that this is a tournament for serious players and I must be committed to seeing it through to the end to play at all.  The phrase “serious player” might be an understatement in Dan’s case.

You see, Dan doesn’t have a lot of faults.  He really hardly ever does anything wrong.  Growing up, his siblings jokingly referred to him as the Christ-figure.  But if he does have an Achilles heel, I must say it is his competitive nature.  I always thought Monopoly was a game of chance.  If so, Dan is very lucky, for, to my knowledge, he is the only participant in the history of the tournament who can boast of winning two years in a row.  I think he controls the roll of the dice with the sheer force of his competitive will.

The second year, I was home with the baby-twins and Dan, feeling bad leaving me alone with them, decided not to go.  Hugh and Mary Brown stopped by to drop off baby Ruby on their way to the tournament.   In the course of the conversation I said to Dan, “Maybe you should just go on and go with them.  I’ll be fine with the babies.”   We talked for another minute or two and Hugh said, “Where’s Dan?”‘

We looked around, but he was gone.  I opened the front door and saw his tail-lights disappear as his car careened around the corner and out of sight.  I marvel at how suddenly and silently he vanished into the night.  His explanation: “Well, I didn’t want to miss the reading of the rules.” (What a relief!  For when someone as nice as Dan disappears like that, you have to wonder if you’ve been Left Behind.)

Tonight, if he wins for a third consecutive year, he promises that, like Tim Tebow, he will head straight to the Children’s Hospital where he will cheer sick children with his very winning presence.

I’m just going to have a bowl of cereal and go to bed.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Olson permalink
    January 14, 2012 1:40 pm

    . . . did Dan win?

  2. Sarah permalink
    January 14, 2012 2:18 pm

    I’m with Mary… did Dan win?!
    And even though I’ve only met you once, Lucy – I’d ALWAYS pick you and a bowl of cereal over all-night-Monopoly! 🙂

  3. Barbie permalink
    January 14, 2012 3:56 pm

    What a fun idea! Did he win?

  4. January 16, 2012 1:11 am

    It is my sad duty to report: He did not win!

  5. Susanna permalink
    January 16, 2012 8:19 pm

    I remember when Dan’s competitive nature got the best of him during a friendly family wiffle ball game at Seaside and he ran right over Aunt Sally knocking her to the ground.

Leave a Reply

