Skip to content

Partying

January 12, 2012

We are well into week two of infirmity at our house.  While I did miss most of week one of infirmity thanks to the stay-cation, the children have been sick for two weeks and their nerves (and so my nerves) are wearing thin.  What started as croup has turned into ear infections and antibiotics all around.  Poor Miss P, burning up with fever, eyes and ears and nose all running, is so eager to give the right answer when asked, “How are you feeling?”  that she will look you right in the eye and shout, “Great!”  every time.

I felt so desperate to get out  Monday night that when I saw on facebook that someone I met two years ago at our birthing class was hosting a Norwex cleaning products party I signed right up!  Dan was very confused.  “What kind of party?”  “At whose house?”  Sitting around with ladies discussing cleaning products sounded just heavenly at the end of a long day.  I am very glad that  Anne -from-the-birthing-class remembered me and did not slam the door in my face.  No, indeed, she invited me in to buy cleaning supplies.

The problem is, I am SUCH a sucker at these parties.  It all started with a round of Party-Lites candle parties I was invited to.  I was told by a very persuasive Party-Lites representative to sign on the dotted line if I enjoy free Carribean vacations, would like to make 100,000 dollars a year, and am tired of going to work.  But if, on the other hand, I don’t like vacations and love working like a dog and don’t want to make 100,000 dollars a year partying, then don’t bother to sign up to sell Party-Lites candles.   Oh, the pressure, but I held firm and do not (to date) sell candles for a living.

Then for a while I was getting invited to make-up parties.  At the first party, I was told by a rep. with very clear skin that every other make-up brand mixes their make-ups out of road kill.  She assured us that she had seen with her own eyes the “rendering plant” where road kill is turned into make-up. This shocking revelation was followed with the promise that her make-up is created from special fruit cells that burst upon contact with your skin.  Then she told me I could have this magical make-up FOR FREE if I hosted a make-up party and convinced at least two friends to host a party.  I weakened and “booked” a party (as they say in the sales-parties world).

(This same rep in telling us of her financial goals kept using the phrase “and then I plan to retire my husband”.  While I like my husband and have no desire to “retire” him any time soon I have enjoyed the free make-up.)

You see, the thing is, they really do give you FREE STUFF if your friends buy stuff.  And I love FREE STUFF.  But my friends are on to me.  After the Norwex party where I watched the Norwex representative glide effortlessly around Anne’s living room making little figure eights with a dust mop that is probably going to change my life, I got right on the phone.  First I called Mary Brown because she also loves FREE STUFF.

“Mary, have you ever heard of Norwex?”‘ I began.

“I’m not having a party.” She cut me off.

On to Sarah, who faithful friend that she is, hosted a make-up party last year so that I could be transformed by free make-up.  She was not tempted by Norwex.

But I think with my third phone call, to Kendra, I hit a home run.

I will be hosting my own Norwex party at the end of January (you only get the life-changing dust mop if you have your party in January).  So come one, come all.  Date and time TBA.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Susanna permalink
    January 12, 2012 2:56 am

    I myself am a Norwex sucker. I had a smashingly successful party (thank you Belle who loves all things organic) and am still basking in the glow of all the free products including my figure eight mop. It has not, however, made cleaning my house fun like my darling host promised. My favorites are the envirocloth, cleaning paste, and mop system.

  2. January 12, 2012 6:40 am

    Hmm.. it takes a while for those party-trends to make it across the ocean. We’re still dealing in Tupperware over here in the Middle East.

    • Betsy permalink
      January 12, 2012 3:51 pm

      Is that an airplane reference?

  3. Shanna Lehn permalink
    January 12, 2012 11:04 pm

    Lucy, It was at your very own make-up party where I was convinced by the representative
    that I would probably grow an extra arm if I used any other make-up product. My husband still won’t let me forget the amount of money I spent that day!

  4. January 13, 2012 12:36 am

    Which, Shanna, is precisely why I will be inviting YOU to my Norwex party.

Leave a Reply

