Skip to content

Fitting In

January 3, 2012

Christmas is over, but nobody has told Charlie who has insisted on wearing this Christmas tree on his head for days.  He has worn it everywhere: around the house, to the doctor, to Target, to the art museum.  Fortunately, in our neighborhood, it is perfectly acceptable to dress, shall we say, “on the edge”.

I remember walking with my mother to one of my favorite neighborhood haunts: The May Day Cafe.  It was cold and windy and she was wearing my winter hat.  As we walked in, she took it off asking me, “Does my hair look funny?”  It did kind of.  But with funny hair, she just fit right in with the other patrons – one of whom was sporting purple hair, another a mohawk.  Certainly nobody in the entire cafe had brushed hair.

I once mentioned the May Day cafe to a psychologist I work with and he said, “Oh, yes, I know the place.  Very progressive.”

I like to play “Most Likely to Be” at the May Day Cafe.   I was playing it there once with Betsy, and on her turn she asked me, “Who in here is most likely to be from a dairy farm?”  I turned around and (with Betsy as my witness) a woman was walking in wearing a full body cow suit, udders and everything.  In the same round we saw a woman most likely to be named “Heidi” wearing a Scandinavian sweater, little knickers, and leather moccasins that laced up to her knees.  I correctly guessed the man “most likely to be a geography teacher” carrying, in addition to his coffee, a large globe.

You get the picture.

All this to say, when last Thursday night, we took Charlie to the Holy Lands Deli (for our usual chicken dinner) clad in pajamas and snow boots with a Christmas tree on his head, I felt (not embarrassed as I probably should have) but very progressive.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Grammie B permalink
    January 3, 2012 12:27 am

    This is hysterical. You live a very funny life.

  2. Beth S permalink
    January 3, 2012 12:54 am

    Holy Land Deli is so delish! Fantastic hummus. Sigh. Feeling nostalgic for MN.

  3. Mary Olson permalink
    January 3, 2012 2:24 am

    Charlie could have worn the tree to the Olson Epiphany weekend where Grandma received a “talking bra,” and each adult child received an advanced healthcare directive for Grandma and Grandpa — that’s “progressive!”

    • Betsy permalink
      January 6, 2012 8:43 pm

      Nothing says Christmas like an advanced directive!

Leave a Reply

