Skip to content

Dress to the Socks (on dressing little kids)

December 15, 2011

You might think I’m crazy for needing a system to get everybody dressed.  But without a system, I fear I might fall back into my old ways.  (My old ways being the weeks and weeks last winter when no one under age three (which was all of them) got dressed.)  Picking out kids clothes everyday, matching tops and bottoms, rounding up socks and underwear, for some reason just overwhelms me.  So last winter I quit doing it and they went around in footie pajamas.  But I realize this is not a long term solution.  So, my answer is dress them to the socks* before their feet hit the floor.

As I mentioned in the “Laundry” post, I bag up the children’s outfits right down to socks and underwear at the beginning of the week and hang them on hooks in their closets ready to grab each morning.  So, as I get them out of bed, I get them right into their clothes.  This is important to me because I can dress them before Dan leaves, and if I don’t do it right away I don’t do it all day.  Plus, in Elisabeth’s words, the children “preferve” getting dressed “lady to lady and man to man”. (And I must admit, I preferve not being the parent to dress Charlie, who has a penchant for waking up in character as a baby lion.  It is hard to dress a lion.  Best done by the Alpha Male.)

Sometimes I feel like we live in a house of cards, and, if one thing goes’ it all falls apart.  Getting dressed is my first battle of the day.  And I feel such success heading out the door when everyone is clothed.  It doesn’t take much these days.

*Note: I say “to the socks” because our shoes live by the back door.  In Minnesota, people remove their shoes before entering a home.  This is a practice I (before moving north) mistakenly thought was reserved for our Japanese brothers and sisters.  But when in Rome…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Grammie B permalink
    December 15, 2011 11:04 pm

    So sweet to read your plans. I preferve reading about this to living it. More power to you.

  2. December 16, 2011 2:09 am

    Thanks for sharing these tips! I know you were worried they wouldn’t be interesting, but I’m definitely enjoying them. And I empathize with the temptation to just leave them in their pjs all day. I only have one kiddo, but getting both of us dressed and out the door (especially if my partner isn’t around) can just feel like way too much. Especially when one of us is on a kick where he’ll only wear one lavender sock and one blue one….

  3. December 16, 2011 3:48 pm

    i am laughing so hard right now, Lucy. you have a gift for making me see the humor in the everyday–(“best handled by the alpha male . . .”)

  4. December 19, 2011 2:02 am

    Why do people here take off their shoes? It’s cold. We have wood floors. I don’t care if you track snow in my house – I have a broom and a swiffer. And I do assume you’ll wipe your feet. But, I don’t want your feet to get cold! I”m going to start adopting my friend’s practice and put some slippers on my bag. Then at least my feet won’t get cold when I go to someone else’s house.

  5. melanie permalink
    December 30, 2011 3:50 pm

    I never remove my shoes at my own house and always ask people when entering what they have as a rule. I am trying to restock our slipper collection(the washable kind) for those in the habit of removing shoes.

Leave a Reply

