Skip to content

Birthday Best (on foster parenting)

November 8, 2011

For my birthday today, Charlie and Elisabeth picked out cards for me at Target.  Elisabeth’s featured two bears and said: “Mommy, It’s Your Birthday and I Love You!”   Charlie’s featured two monkeys gazing at each other from the treetop and said: “To My Wonderful Husband, the Man I’ll Always be BANANAS About!”  While I loved both cards, my favorite card was handmade, from J.

It said:

Lucy,

You are the friend to my ship.

You are the kind to my ness.

You are the foster to my mom.

And I Love you.

Happy Birthday Lucy.

J.

I’ll treasure it forever.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth S permalink
    November 8, 2011 1:52 am

    Made me cry.

  2. c storm permalink
    November 8, 2011 2:05 am

    Oh God…I’m a long-time foster Mom – well, we are long time foster moms – and you got me going. I’m a longtime lurker here, too, but I delurk for foster parents. Hurray to you, thank goodness she has you. These kids break out hearts a million times over, but they are so worth every tear. Bless you all.

  3. Not your Grammie permalink
    November 8, 2011 3:06 am

    Me, too.

  4. Jacy permalink
    November 9, 2011 5:18 am

    that’s SO sweet Lucy! I’m so glad you have J at this time in your life and J has you, the three little peppers and Dan too. Glad you had a good birthday.

  5. November 10, 2011 1:47 pm

    C.R.Y.I.N.G. Bless you, bless you, bless you Lucy, and happy birthday!

    • free4578 permalink
      November 16, 2011 9:06 pm

      I miss the peppers-is everyone OK?

Leave a Reply

