Skip to content

All Hallows Eve

November 1, 2011

We have mixed feelings about Halloween.  My mother had mixed feelings before me.  And her mother before her.  (Actually, now that I think about it, her mother did not have mixed feelings about it.  She LOVED Halloween and dressed up into her 80’s.  In fact, her costume was a sought after piece of inheritance.)  But I have mixed feelings.  I don’t think evil is funny or pretend.  But I can think of nothing more fun for small children than running up and down the sidewalk in the dark of night ringing doorbells and getting candy.  So those are my mixed feelings: I don’t like the spooky part but the rest of it is SO MUCH FUN.  How can we resist?

My mothers mixed feelings resulted in some hasty costuming as she always caved in at the end and off we ran, not really to “trick or treat” but to  “visit our eldery neighbors”.  Dan thought to redeem the day by focusing on church history.  He suggested John and Betty Stam, missionary martyrs as characters for Charlie and Elisabeth this year.  They just stared at him.  Elisabeth breaking the silence with: “But we want to be clowns.”

Much to my relief more than one of our own elderly neighbors dropped by last week to inquire about our Halloween plans, as the rest of the children in the neighborhood are non-trick–or-treating-Muslims, practically necessitating our participation.  Neighbor Diane sadly told of waiting year after year for the trick or treaters that never came.  The old people need us, you see.  So, bring on the clowns!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Papaw permalink
    November 1, 2011 10:13 pm

    Wish they could have rung our doorbell.

  2. Mary Olson permalink
    November 1, 2011 10:41 pm

    Dearer clowns do NOT exist and your neighborhood is soooo blessed. “Saints” can stand on one’s doorstep in clown suits soliciting candy I’m sure, and they don’t need a historical explanation. After all, Grandma and Grandpa were clowns of a sort this year too. Hugs to you all —- bring in the clowns! (I feel like turning a cartwheel….)

  3. Yvette permalink
    November 1, 2011 11:25 pm

    I too, have mixed feelings about Halloween. But I’ve never heard a better reason than yours for trick or treating!

  4. Grammie B permalink
    November 2, 2011 12:03 am

    I’m not a Halloween afficionado, but your Uncle Harold made some spectacular costumes for Suz and Garrett. Costumes are fun. I love your children’s happy looks.

  5. Anna Ostrom permalink
    November 3, 2011 3:46 am

    You have precious clowns! I am uncomfortable with parts of Halloween, too. But I think it’s the world’s celebration and glorification of evil that I have a problem with. I have no problem recognizing that there is evil and scary stuff in the world, and treating it for what it is. But I still think clowns, princesses, superheroes, etc, are much more age appropriate. I’m not familiar with the Stamms, but as Catholics, we have a very rich history of sensational martyrs to dress as 🙂 Jane, however, was (a not so scary) St. Bernadette. She made a precious little peasant, but balked at me making her face dirty with soot 🙂 It was her idea, and I encouraged it, as we did have an All Saints day party the next day, and I only had to make one costume. I think our excitement at watching her joy as she said “trick or treat” with all her friends was the best part.

Leave a Reply

