Skip to content

Carnival

October 30, 2011

What fun was had at the Cityview Church annual fall carnival yesterday. Bounce-houses, and campfires, and hayrides, oh my! My favorite was the “hayride” a.k.a. a bicycle rickshaw. I didn’t know we had rickshaws in this country. Miss P waved her little hand and (in imitation of the bicycle’s bell) said, “Ding! Ding!” to every pedestrian we passed.

This carnival was not without its dangers, however.  Namely, the giant bounce-house which tipped over and sort of slid down a hill, much to the glee of the bouncing children and the horror of their mothers.  I guess this is a common bounce-house issue.  I remember it happening at a carnival when I was little.   I can hear the screams like it was yesterday.  And yet, we keep coming back for MORE BOUNCE.

The children were surprised and delighted each time they finished a game and candy was dropped into their bag.  Telling them they couldn’t eat their hard earned candy proved to be too much for me, so I turned them loose.  I’ve never really noticed them being much affected by sugar.  Until last night.  As I tried to wrestle him into the tub, Charlie spun in circles flapping his hands and laughing hysterically.  Dan missed all this.  Why would anyone choose a weekend of football watching with friends over this hilarity?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Grammie B permalink
    October 31, 2011 12:26 am

    What a beautiful butterfly Elisabeth is. The whole carnival sounds like lots of fun. I wish I could see Miss P “dinging.”

Leave a Reply

