Skip to content

How does he do it?

October 16, 2011

Dan has mastered the art of sleeping through anything.  He can get up, comfort a crying child, give water, change a diaper, and return to bed, without ever waking up.  I don’t know how he does it.  And there is something about his low murmurs in the night that settle the children right down.   Who knows what he is saying.

Last night Elisabeth cried.  I got her a sip of water.  Charlie cried.  I got him a sip a water.  Charlie cried again, “I’m hot, I’m getting so hot!”  I gave Dan the elbow.  He popped up and marched into the nursery.

When he returned to bed I asked, worried: “Do you think he’s getting sick?  Did you give him some Tylenol?”

“No, I didn’t give him any Tylenol,” Dan said sleepily, “I just got him re-elected.”

Apparently, assuring Charlie of his reelection was just what the Doctor ordered, as he slept peacefully the rest of the night.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Olson permalink
    October 16, 2011 10:13 pm

    What a delight for Grandma and Grandpa to receive 2 posts in one day!! Perhaps Charlie was lulled into bewilderment by the promise of re-election…..”What is re-election?”

  2. October 19, 2011 12:44 pm

    Your blog consistently makes me SO HAPPY. Thanks.

  3. Grammie B permalink
    October 20, 2011 11:06 am

    Maybe a little too much Herman Cain . . .?

  4. Jennifer Widdifield permalink
    October 27, 2011 2:42 am

    Michael and I are laughing out loud! Funny!

Leave a Reply

