Skip to content

On Loan

September 15, 2011

The inevitable has happened, already.  Miss P has a suitor.  I thought we had a little more time, yet, as she is still quite bald.  But that has not deterred her number one admirer.  He is none other than Charles P. Olson.  For days now he has been asking to borrow Miss P.  Often when I have no idea what he is talking about I can satisfy him with the answer, “Not until you are four.”  That worked yesterday. But today, no cigars.  “Please, please can I borrow her today?  Because she’s sooo cute!”  He begged.  As I am currently working on being a responsible parent, I of course had to ask a few questions before loaning him our dear Miss P.  Such as, “What will you do with her if I let you borrow her?”

Charlie: “I will make sure she has everything she needs.  And if she cries I will pat her on the back.  But if she needs to nurse I will bring her to you.  Because I don’t have nu-nus.  I just have nickels.”

Me: “Okay.  I guess you can borrow her.”

He was elated, of course.  Who wouldn’t be.  He held her hand at the food court tonight.  And played several rowdy games with her.  All the while singing to himself (to the tune of “Go Tell Aunt Rody”): “I love my young baby.  I love my young ba-by.”

So, if anyone want to give us a date night, they are welcome to borrow Miss P.  But she comes with two strings attached.  Don’t all raise your hands at once.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Olson permalink
    September 15, 2011 8:19 pm

    We would love to borrow her too—same limitations as Charlie though. That is the cutest photo of Miss P.!

Leave a Reply

