Skip to content

Cutting the Grass with Scissors

September 13, 2011

Of the three children, Charlie has so far proven to be the most emotional…especially around 4 o’clock.  Like clockwork he faces great anguish in the afternoon.  I am at a loss as to how to help him manage his grief over the strangest of things.  Yesterday he was engaged in his usual activity, mowing, when he suddenly fell to the ground sobbing, “My mower is out of gas!  It won’t start!” huge tears rolling down his cheeks.  How do you help a guy start a plastic mower?  How do you know when it has started?  Or what kind of gas to use? As Obama says, it’s beyond my pay grade.  I did, however, give him scissors.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Olson permalink
    September 13, 2011 7:36 pm

    Sorry, Lucy. The above post is mine; I didn’t notice you have logged in on my laptop 🙂 Hacked again.

  2. Lisa permalink
    September 14, 2011 4:02 am

    funny…at about 4 pm today Samuel was completely distraught over the type of plastic bag that I gave him to put weeds in while we worked in the backyard. Apparently he wanted a Target bag and not a Rainbow bag. After going inside, between sobs, he would wail, “I just want to weed!!!!” Charlie and Samuel would make quite the gardening team, I think!

Leave a Reply

