Skip to content

The thing I have feared…

September 6, 2011

…since the twins were born has come upon me.  They seem to be giving up their afternoon nap.  (much to my horror).  They still have a nice long rest on their beds, but I can’t in good conscience leave them up there (tossing and turning) for 2-3 hours as I do when they are sleeping sweetly.  And a short rest time is just not the same as a nice long bout of unconsciousness (from my end anyway).

This development has seriously cramped my blogging style.  However, with six months of blogging under my belt, (really the longest I’ve ever stuck with any kind of journaling) I am just determined to find a way to carry on.  This will NOT go the way of my other hobbies.  And I have no choice but to keep going as Dan rejected my opinion that perhaps the time has come to print the blog and bind it in scrapbook form to have when we are old (my idea from the beginning). “What would we call it?”  he pointed out, “Three Little Peppers: The First Six Months?”  He has a point.

Speaking of sleeping, Charlie has been helping me put Miss P to bed.  He was rocking her in his lap two nights ago, singing one of his favorite songs, “The Old Gray Mare She Ain’t What She Used To Be,” and I suggested he pray for Miss P.  His nodded seriously, laid his hands on her head and prayed:

“Dear Miss P,

I wish we could stay up all night.

Amen.”

Enough said.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 4:49 pm

    Lu-cy!
    DO NOT QUIT!

  2. September 8, 2011 9:49 pm

    I’m so sorry, Lucy. But it does make it easier for me not to be jealous. And if I can do it, even sporadically, you can do it. And I need you to make me smile from time to time.

  3. ostroms permalink
    September 9, 2011 9:22 pm

    You definitely can’t quit. You should write a book 🙂 You’ve inspired me to do my own, so no quitting now. Jane is trying to give up naptime, too. Conveniently, she doesn’t mind the forced extended rest time for 1-2 hours. She reads and plays happily in her big girl bed. When she does sleep, it usually happens about 1.5 hours into the rest time, which means she ends up staying in her bed for 3-4 hours. I feel a little bit bad about that. Sometimes.

Leave a Reply

