Skip to content

Weathered

September 1, 2011

I introduced myself to a friend of a friend yesterday.  When I said my name she exclaimed,”Why you’re not what I expected at all!  I mean I expected you to look more weathered.”  I spent the rest of the day feeling so happy that I do not yet look “more weathered.”

Perhaps she expected my presentation to be as it was last night when Dan suggested a trip to the Wendy’s drive through.  This is a semi-regular post dinner outing for us.  It takes us about 4 minutes to get to Wendy’s and then we take the scenic route home for an hour or so as the children enjoy their junior Frostys and shred napkins in the back.  We’ve found it is the best way for us to have a conversation. (And gas is cheaper than a babysitter.)  The children have never noticed the discrepancy between the drive to and fro Wendy’s.  Although Elisabeth might be on to us.  Last week, after a solid hour of driving around she asked with exasperation, “Mom, are we lost?”

The children seem to feel a familiarity, yea even a fondness, for the drive-thru attendants and on a recent trip Elisabeth shouted from the back after I had placed our order, “And tell her Charlie bumped me with his bike today and I have two owies!” I did, and she was appropriately sympathetic.

So last night, when Dan suggested a jaunt to Wendy’s I was still in my wet clothes and barefoot.  My wet clothes were a result of a rescue of Miss P from the kiddie pool at the park where she successfully floated on her back until I noticed her. In all the excitement I apparently left the park without my shoes, a fact I did not notice until 10 p.m. when  Dan gallantly walked over in the dark and retrieved them.  I didn’t think I would need my shoes in my role of drive through passenger, and in my excitement about the prospect of a Frosty I forgot my clothes were still wet.  But I was tricked!  On the way to Wendy’s Dan decided he wanted Izzy’s (an indoor ice-cream parlor).  As I sat at Izzy’s, barefoot and wet, I must say I felt weathered.  My only consolation: Elisabeth was also barefoot and with a terrible fifths disease rash all over her face really I think no one noticed the mother.

Speaking of not looking so hot: behold, a batch of cookies, made by the twins and ready to pop into the oven.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Grammie permalink
    September 1, 2011 6:04 pm

    You are an amazing mother. Those cookies will taste wonderful. I loved this post. As always, you crack me up.

  2. Amber Robbins-Ghormley permalink
    September 1, 2011 10:12 pm

    Lucy, you are such a great story teller. I love your blog and laugh out loud every time I read it. We miss you guys and wish we could meet you at Wendy’s for a frosty.
    amber

  3. Beth S permalink
    September 2, 2011 12:30 am

    Wonderful. I’m sitting here grinning away at your weathering experiences. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

