Skip to content

Busy B

August 10, 2011

We’ve been so busy with Aunt Betsy joining our household for five days.

1. We celebrated the birthdays of two of Wendy’s boys with Adam and Wendy the crew Saturday night.  We enjoyed hot dogs and burgers by the pool (our blow up).  Their was much robing and disrobing as the children vacillated between swimming, not swimming, swimming, not swimming. In all the confusion Miss P ended up nudy, as they say, for about an hour.  I’m dismayed to report that she left a long brown present for me on the grass right in front of my chair. Luckily I scooped it up in my napkin, and I do not think Aunt Betsy saw (as we do want her to come again).

2. Aunt Betsy joined the children and me as we auditioned for an Italian sausage commercial.  I didn’t actually get to interact with sausage.  You have to pass a peanut butter and jelly test before you get to the sausage level.  I auditioned with Dan’s sister, Sara.  Elisabeth, Sara and I wore our aprons, and I was instructed to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich while laughing and joking with Sara for two minutes in front of a panel of judges and a camera.  “You know,” the director instructed us, “just like to regular moms getting a little drunk and cooking together. Think: Girl’s night out.”  There are so many things wrong with this scenario I don’t even know where to start.  First of all, in my experience, regular moms do not routinely get drunk and cook together.  Secondly, I cannot imagine making peanut butter and jelly sandwiches constituting a girl’s night out.  Thirdly, I can think of few things less funny to laugh and joke about than peanut butter and jelly.  Betsy summed it up: It was an awkward situation.  Needless to say I have not received the much anticipated sausage call that I was just sure would fund the fencing of the rest of our yard.

3. With help from Aunt B we redecorated the twins room.  Betsy sewed quilts and a bunting (below).  Dan cut and painted wooden letters for each.  Sarah Hoffner helped paint the room.  I oversaw (as is my custom).   In addition to our debt of gratitude to Aunt Betsy, a special thanks goes out to Mary Patience Olson who waited not-so-patiently  in her crib for 4.5 hours yesterday while we painted.  Before and After pictures below:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 5:31 pm

    I wonder what it would take to convince Betsy to make ME a quilt?… 🙂

    Great room!

  2. ostroms permalink
    August 10, 2011 7:06 pm

    I love the room! And I think I might suggest to the regular moms in my women’s group tonight that we get together to get drunk and cook sometime 🙂 That was hilarious. Thanks for catching me up on what “regular moms” do.

  3. Mary Olson permalink
    August 10, 2011 9:01 pm

    I can hardly wait to see the E&C room ! So colorful and fun, just like the residents, and the quilts are great, Betsy.

  4. August 10, 2011 9:17 pm

    wow! This is decor at it’s finest! Beauty!

  5. Grammie permalink
    August 11, 2011 2:57 pm

    A-Dorable. Those quilts are beautiful, and I LOVE the letters. I used to have a letter like that. I know ya’ll had a great time with Betsy.

  6. Beth S permalink
    August 14, 2011 12:15 am

    The room looks so cheerful and darling! And once again, you have me laughing. I always look forward to reading your posts. Let me know when your book comes out. I want an autographed copy.

  7. george permalink
    August 25, 2011 2:58 am

    beautiful room and pictures!

Leave a Reply

