Skip to content

Heat Wave Reveals True Colors

July 20, 2011

We are having a heat wave.  The response of Minnesotans to the announcement of the heat wave has caused me to question the beliefs I have formed about their toughness, as I’ve watched them winter after winter careening wildly around in their cars on icy streets, narrowly missing many a pedestrian, actually seeming to enjoy this grown up version of bumper cars.  But their powers are now being tested by high temperatures (90s) and they have been  found wanting.  Numerous friends have told me of children’s sporting events canceled.  I was supposed to babysit for a friend today who canceled because she believed it was too hot for the baby to leave home.  I do not think the thermostat has reached the much talked about 100 degrees, but the Minnesotans are taking cover just in case.  It reminds me of the many times growing up that school was canceled (in Birmingham) due to the possibility of snow.  Often a false alarm, but the schools remain closed just in case.

We found refuge from the heat in the library at story time. Miss P did not sit with us for long.  She joined a flock of bald heads (daycare toddlers) preferring as she does to be with her own kind.  I’m grateful Charlie and Elisabeth weren’t embarrassed to sit with me.  Story time takes place in the cozy fireside room in the basement of the library.  Apparently, the fireside room is also used for youth programs as there was a large poster taped to the mantle. One column explained what a mentor is.  The other column: what a mentor is not.  In case you were confused, a mentor is not: a murderer, a gang-member, or (the kicker) someone behaving badly.  (see the poster below) I love this library.  I believe I have visited every library in Minneapolis in search of a kind word, or even a kind look, or even the absence of hateful looks from the librarian.  In the Franklin Library I have found a gem of a librarian.  Today she said, “I’m so glad you came.”  We don’t hear that very often!  Last week when Miss P attacked her carefully placed magnetic letter board announcing a summer reading program, mixing up all the letters, she said, “Look how bright she is, she went right for the letters.”  Friendly librarians don’t come along every day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Brenda permalink
    July 21, 2011 11:39 am

    I have checked every day for your post, so I’m glad to see a new one. I’m glad they are teaching the little ones about mentoring. You have to start early these days. That poster was interesting, wasn’t it?

    When are you heading to Tennessee? The water is fine here.

  2. George permalink
    July 26, 2011 2:55 am

    A close reading of the poster reveals that a mentor is warm and fuzzy. As you noted, a mentor is not someone behaving badly. We must take this dichotomy for what it is, and humbly beseach the Spirit to live through us.

    • barbershoppe permalink
      October 15, 2012 10:03 pm

      Lucy,
      This blog has caused an incredible number of problems for our family today. You see, I just really discovered it yesterday when I was catching up on George’s message about his move. As a result… my Monday laundry is unfinished, my homeschooled children’s teacher has been AWOL today, giggling in a corner with a laptop while they are wrestling with geometry and a literary analysis regarding some heron feathers and a refurbished spear, and my dinner is simmering over, all while I’m alternating between giggling and guffawing and, “Listen to this, boys!” I hope to finish catching up on your life tonight after they go to scouts. Your new fan in Birmingham, who is unfortunately behaving badly, Anna Barber
      *This reminds me of when I got hooked on the Mitford books ten years ago. We had laundry stacked to the ceiling and Barney re-runs for two weeks.

Leave a Reply

