Skip to content

Father’s Day

June 20, 2011

The children really went all out this year for Father’s day.  Elisabeth decided to give Dad the letter “O”.  A very thoughtful gift, although she pointed out that this is the only letter she can write.  She considered also giving him an “E” but decided against it as she can’t write an “E”.  Charlie decided not to draw anything for Dan, stating that he wanted to give Daddy something that he could put in a box and close.  I asked what he wanted to put in a box for Daddy.  His response: “My bed.” I tried to steer him in other directions but he was adamant that he wanted to give Daddy his bed.  Either he’s pining for his old crib or he thought this special gift might result in peaceful nights of slumber with Daddy.

Dan did not receive a card from Elisabeth.  She was so taken with the pink princess card I bought for her to give him, that at the critical moment she choked and refused to relinquish the card, making up for it by offering him the entire contents of her dollhouse in a box.

Besides dollhouse furniture, he also recieved:

1. a squirt gun (from Charlie)

2. a faux phone (from Elisabeth)

3. Berenstein Bears and the Bad Habit (from Elisabeth)

4. one yellow rain boot (from Charlie)

5.  the other boot (from Miss P)

6. the children made blueberry muffins and brought Dan his breakfast in bed…which they then ate.  Charlie shouted between mouthfuls, “I am eating in bed with the Father!”  Other strange aspects of the day were Charlie’s Father’s Day note (dictated to me): “Dear Dad, I like to play on you.  I like to walk on you. I like to climb on you.  I like to jump on you.”  (If I didn’t know better, I’d say he loves Daddy for his body).  And the fact that he announced, “I would like to call myself, Dan.”  I think it’s the sincerest form of flattery.

We were listening to a new c.d. and the words to one song, “Remember the Lord”, go: “If your Dad is crusty and your mom’s in a flap…Remember the Lord.” I asked the children, “Does your Dad ever get crusty?” “Noooo!” they shouted as if this was the silliest thing they’ve ever heard.  “Does Mama get crusty?”  They laughed, “Yes!”  Without Dan these last three years, I’d be worse than crusty.  What can I say.  He has saved me from total crustiness.  I am forever grateful.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brenda permalink
    June 20, 2011 6:47 pm

    Very happy father’s day story.

Leave a Reply

