Skip to content

Ashes to ashes and trophies to trash

May 18, 2011

We packed up our attic last weekend.  We won’t have as much storage space in our new house so we are ruthlessly getting rid of things.  I kept one journal and threw away twelve, relieving me of my nagging fear of someone reading them after my death.   I kept four photos and threw away 4oo .  Well, actually I intended to throw them away but unbeknownst to me my trash bag had broken as I dragged it behind me to the dumpster in the alley and  400 photos were scattered hither and yon. Then we came to Dan’s trophy box, lovingly stored and moved from house to house by his devoted parents.  Charlie and Elisabeth were delighted, immediately setting up a trophy store, selling each other on the finer points of each trophy. We’ve decided to commemorate Dan’s glory years with a special photo, saving us two more square feet of storage space in the new house.  So to the dumpster these will go.  Bringing out Dan’s trophies of course  brought the question: “Where are mama’s trophies?”  Awkward silence.  I did once recieve a trophy, for winning the regional Association of Christian Schools Spelling Bee!  I also lettered several times, in math team.  Betsy, on the other hand, had many trophies.  Growing up, we referred to these as her nerd collection.  They included, but were not limited to: Spelling Bee, Safety Patrol, Roaring Readers, a Home Ec. award, and the crowning jewel: a little American flag that had been flown to the moon, presented to a select number of outstanding students.  Dan has been emotionally preparing himself since before our children were born that in a strange twist of fate they may take after my side of the family and may not receive the genes that win trophies. But, Oh the words they will spell! We can hope and pray that they will follow in his father’s footsteps and someday receive this honor:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth Saavedra permalink
    May 18, 2011 8:51 pm

    Oh, how you make me laugh!

  2. Brenda permalink
    May 18, 2011 11:07 pm

    This gave me many ha ha’s.

  3. May 19, 2011 7:53 pm

    I love that they played trophy store!!

  4. Anna Beall permalink
    May 20, 2011 1:55 am

    Fun to be reminded about lettering in math team. That made me smile. I had somewhat of a nerd collection too, but I think that the crown jewel of my collection was the Girls P.E. award that I won my sophomore year in high school. I’m never going to live that one down with my family.

Leave a Reply

