Skip to content

Wendy and the not-lost boys

May 11, 2011

Today our friend Wendy and her five fine sons (ages 1-6) drove down from St. Cloud to join us and approximately 2,200 school children at the Como Zoo. Sometimes when I get together with friends who have children we spend the whole time contending with the children and really don’t interact with each other much at all.  Fortunately, when I am with Wendy, we have only my three to contend with as her 5 (due to their excellent manners and stealthy presence) do not count.   For example, when Stephen, found himself dangling precariously from the top of the monkey bars, stuck and unable to find a foothold, he waited quietly until Wendy noticed him and then whispered, “I need a little help.”

For the record, I am happy to report that Wendy is a very wonderful mother and that she does not carry a diaper bag. She did bring one diaper as she has read this blog and so knew that I would not have one to share.  And alas, my unpreparedness manifested itself when Miss P spilled a whole bottle of water on herself and (much to her delight) spent the rest of the zoo trip topless.  While it may be true I did not have a diaper to spare, or a change of clothes handy, I think I redeemed myself with the log of summer sausage I had in my purse.

Here they are, a splendid sight:

And lest you think having five boys is a walk in the park, a more sinister shot:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda permalink
    May 12, 2011 1:52 am

    SOOOO cute!

  2. May 12, 2011 7:25 am

    Lucy, as I recall, my children had you up and down out of your chair several times while your children were sleeping away in their beds! Thanks for a fun day (and the sausage and cheese!)

Leave a Reply

