Skip to content

Easter

April 25, 2011

We awoke this Easter morn to the sweet smell of smoked Creme Brulee which my brother-in-law Carl, who is widely known for his expertise in the area of dessert,had unintentionally cooked all night for the Olson Family Easter dinner. This smell was a matter of great intrigue for the twins as were the little white cups of ashes that resulted.

After breakfast, we informed the twins that today it is Easter.  No matter how I try I simply couldn’t think of a way to spin these eggs festively adorning our dining room (see above photo) into a symbol of this great season in the church year.  I thought to make up for it by crafting a tomb, as my own mother used to do, and putting a little man in it, so that the children could wake up on Easter morning, roll the stone away and declare the tomb empty.  I never did get around to it and realized this morning as the children ate breakfast that it was almost too late.  So I plopped this in the middle of the breakfast table:

They were very concerned, #1 That the toilet paper was getting dirty.  #2 The Uncle Carl doll (from their Loving Family Dollhouse) was going to be stuck in there.  The whole scene was very unsettling for them.  I had them close their eyes and wrested Uncle Carl from the toilet paper so we could declare: “The Lord is Risen.” They just stared at me.  We moved on to Easter Baskets and a hunt for Easter Eggs, carefully hidden in plain sight all over the living room.  Charlie dominated the hunt declaring, “I laid another egg!” with each find.  In her defense, Elisabeth was at a disadvantage, carrying her Easter basket over her shoulder like a purse, spilling eggs as fast as she put them in.

For the Olson family Easter Celebration Miss P wore a bow in her (5) hairs for the first time. To secure the bow I had to comb hairs from the back of her head over to the top, eliciting several Donald Trump jokes from the Olsons. (I marvelled as I changed her diaper today how I could love someone so much who can’t carry on a conversation, eats her own feet, and only has hair in the back…but love her WE DO!)  The family celebration was enjoyed by one and all.  In a grand turn of events Spring descended on us at about 10 a.m. today and the sight of children in short sleeves hunting for Easter eggs in the green grass warmed my cold cold heart.  I only regret I forgot my camera.

But I picked it up on the way to our final stop, an Easter picnic and evening service for church.  Charlie fell asleep in the car on the way which resulted in soaked pants.  He was undaunted by his lack of pants (or the dainty scalloped socks I discovered Dan mistakenly put on his feet this morning).  He even managed to bust a few moves while enjoying his dinner.

It was a wonderful evening with good friends, a family.

On the way home tonight, Charlie carefully turned the pages of Dan’s Bible, instructing Elisabeth:

Charlie: “Now you say, ‘Christ has died.”

Elisabeth: “Christ has died.”

Charlie: “Now say, ‘Christ has risen.”

Elisabeth: “Christ has risen.”

Charlie: “Christ will come again.”

Elisabeth: “Christ will come again.”

Charlie: “Yeaaaaayyyyy!”

I am comforted that in all the chaos and candy and attention to eggs, they didn’t completely miss the point.  The Lord is risen, indeed. Yay.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. George permalink
    April 25, 2011 3:06 am

    Great one.

  2. April 25, 2011 4:08 am

    I laughed out loud when I saw Uncle Carl prosrate in the dirty toilet paper with his spiffy red and white sneakers.

  3. Brenda permalink
    April 25, 2011 10:53 am

    Ditto to what Julie said. I have NEVER NEVER seen Christ’s burial portrayed in a more creative way. I loved reading about your day. I missed all my little chicks this Easter.

  4. Mary Olson permalink
    April 25, 2011 11:56 am

    Yea Lucy for creating a memorable Easter for the Little Peppers and for all who read this deeply amusing post!

    …loved your exclamation at Sara’s when Dan asked where the Twins were (since they weren’t clinging to your legs) and you beamed and said, “I don’t know!!”

Leave a Reply

