Skip to content

Dressing for Success

April 14, 2011

We did not dress for success today.  Inspired by a few warm sunny days last week, and noting the sun shining in the windows this morning, I dressed the children in spring clothes for play group today. Well, spring clothes for Minnesota – which did involve corduroy but with short sleeves.  I realized my mistake on the way to the car as they began to cry, “I’m cold.  I’m so COOOOLD.”  It was too late to turn back, so I just hurried them into the car out of the biting wind.  It really did not feel that cold to me, but the thermostat on the dashboard revealed that it was 35 degrees.  The other people’s children arrived at play group in winter boots, hats, and fleece coats.  By the time we left in our short sleeves, the sun had disappeared and a non-descript “wintry mix” was falling.

It’s supposed to snow a couple of inches on Saturday.

On the bright side, I discovered last week that if I lay right up next to the foundation of our house it blocks the wind and with the sun shining on me I can roll up my sleeves and tell myself I’m “laying out”.  Likewise the children discovered that if they lay down right beside the patches of snow that still exist in the shady parts of the yard they can lick the snow and it tastes just like a Popsicle. You should try it! I wonder how we look, all four of us prostrate on the lawn.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Terra permalink
    April 14, 2011 10:32 pm

    So, I just finished listening to Tina Fey’s audiobook “Bossypants.” So funny, I didn’t want it to end. Luckily, my blogging friend Lucy is every bit as funny as Ms. Fey. For free.

Leave a Reply

