Skip to content

Rorschach

April 13, 2011

This morning, after doing their morning exercises (aka jumping on their beds naked), Charlie and Elisabeth spent some time painting on the porch while I caught up on laundry.  The confidence with which they can tell you exactly what they are painting (and recognize it later) astounds me.  Where I see, a blob, a blob, a blob, they see: a barn, a duck, and Santa Claus. Do you see what they see? It won’t hurt my feelings if you stop reading right here, but taking these pictures made me feel a little better about the fact that while the children nap today I will throw them all in the trash.

The following four paintings are part of a series that Charlie has been working on for two days now.  I call it “Three hats and a Firefly”.

#1.  “Yellow Hat” by Charlie

#2 “Grey Hat” by Charlie

#3 “Green Hat” by Charlie

#4 “A Firefly” by Charlie

A more astute psychologist than me could probably find some meaning in the following series of three paintings by Elisabeth.  I am trying hard, but I just can’t figure out the symbolism of the Seal. Painting number one seems especially significant when pronounced by Elisabeth without any “R’s” as the Dark Warm Room become The Dark Warm Womb…which is followed by the painting of “The Burrow”.  Hmmm.

#1 “A Dark Warm Room with the Doors Closed” by Elisabeth

#2 “A Burrow” by Elisabeth

#3 “A Seal” by Elisabeth

There was one more painting, but I am not including it because to be honest it looked a lot like the previous seven paintings and when I asked Elisabeth what it was, she looked at me like I was crazy and said, “That isn’t ANYTHING!”

Elisabeth is something of a whole body painter. She often ends up looking like a puppy with a patch around its eye.  I don’t know why she has this tendency to get paint on one eye, but last time she caught a glimpse of herself in the mirror she exclaimed, “Oh, there’s an eye on my paint!”

The situation was so serious this morning that I just had to put her into the bathtub.  The only saving grace was that thanks to her fondness for painting in the nude she didn’t ruin any clothes.  But try as I might, I couldn’t get all the eye off her paint, so she had to go to Wee Wednesday at the Global Market looking like a battered woman.  Here she is:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 2:24 am

    Thank you for making me not feel so guilty about throwing art work in the trash (wadded carefully and hidden beneath other garbage) when my children aren’t looking.

    On another note, how do you get your pictures black and white with just parts of them color?

    Wendy

  2. Bumpa permalink
    April 15, 2011 2:29 pm

    Morning Lucy, Moving day for Michael & Jennifer et al. Hey, did you photoshop the Rorshak(?) picture to make the background B&W? If so, CUDO”S!!, if not, Photoshop lessons are available free of cost. Bumpa

Leave a Reply

